New to FM, not sure what game settings to use

Hello

I'm new to Football Manager, having just got FM11. I've spent the past few days collecting up the faces megapack and logos and kits etc, and I've been reading through the FM11 online manual. I've also been looking through the various screens of a test career I made.

The thing is, despite all my reading and searching, I'm still not sure about a few things. One of those is the number of leagues to include when starting a game. What I want to do is start as Bolton Wanderers and never move to another club. The game will end if/when I'm sacked or I get bored. I'd still like access to players from the top clubs in Europe, the Americas and a few eastern nations.

So, if I made only the English Premier League playable, and the top leagues of 40 or so other nations view-only, will I still get access to the players and regens of the English lower leagues and the teams in those top leagues? I read somewhere that in an older version of the game (I think it was FM09), regens from view-only nations were really bad. Has this been fixed?

Something else I don't understand is the level of detail in matches. I'd like as much information as possible from some of the domestic cup competitions in Europe and things like the Champion's/Europa League, but I'm not too bothered about anything else. What would be the best settings to use in terms of match detail? From what I've read, there are two engines used to simulate matches; one quick and one full. What exactly would I see differently if I looked at one match that was set to "All" match detail then looked at another set to "None"?

I was hoping someone could help me understand these parts. I've seen posts from loads of different message boards with people asking the same questions, but I can't find a definitive answer.

I'll post my PC specs aswell, incase they're needed.

CPU: AMD Phenom II X2 555 @ ~3.2GHz

RAM: (2x) 2GB Hynix Single-Channel DDR3 @ 535MHz