Tired Of "Crap" Youth? Please Read This Thread and Help Get SI's Attention

I’ve been throwing this idea out there since FM 2010, but realized I’ve never really fleshed it out, so here it goes.

Please, all comments/queries/bashing to flesh out this potentially game changing feature are most welcome.

So here we go.

In FM Live, we had the opportunity to build an academy (up to 5 I believe) around the world. While this may seem like an unrealistic set up, only the best of the best can get an international academy in the real world.

So the likes of Braintree and Foggia won’t be able to get an academy right out of the gate, only the big boys (and of the big boys, the ones with the money to spend) will be able to afford it. We ask the board like we would for a feeder club, and the more pull you have, you can pick where to have it set up, or give your opinion of 3 places to have it set up (gives incentive to remain at a club longer than getting bored and leaving for a new challenge).

You can appoint a director of scouting to the academy in order to “let the A.I.” run it if you don’t want to get too involved (Your top youth coach, the name Vincenzo Chiarenza, the best Italian youth coach ever comes to mind) or you can use that director to help you hire coaches scouts, staff and look and recommend talent.

You can set it up anywhere in the world (obviously the 18 members of the former G-14 would be those most likely to set an academy up anywhere in the world) while some of the smaller clubs stay within the continent.

Many will probably go for Brazil, and the risk is so would other clubs. Setting an academy in say Canada and being the only one there will guarantee you the best of their best. Once you build your reputation as an academy team, you can move down to Brazil and start snapping up talent from the other guys (and they of course can do the same to you).

Two very major points that could come out of this are the following.