"Gentlemen, as you are all aware, I'm sure, Berwick-upon-Tweed is in England..."

glamdring

It was hardly the most imaginative nor the most inspiring argument, but as an opening gambit it was ideal. It was an undeniable fact, it demonstrated a precedent, albeit one which could be argued away, and it was a test balloon to allow me to gauge the mood of the men assembled before me. I had other arguments of course, most of them owed more to persuasion than to the clear fact of that first Ace I had played, but in some cases persuasion goes a lot further than fact. As does money. Yes, money was the key factor, money makes the world go round and even without any suggestion of corruption, money can be a powerful tool, a persuasive argument in getting one's way with an initially sceptical group of people.

There were 11 men sat before me and as I spoke I studied each in turn. Ten were considerably older than myself and showed little initial sign of warming to me or my wild suggestions. The eleventh was a different type of man entirely. He had youth on his side, possibly even as much as I did and as I put forth my arguments I could see the glint of excitement in his eye. I had done plenty of homework in advance of this meeting, but I had neglected to research the eleven men who made up this panel so I had no idea whether this young man was influencial or just a "yes" man for whatever the remaining ten wanted. Instinctively I decided he was not the latter so it was to him that I began to focus my arguments, whilst at the same time being very careful not to neglect the attentions of the other ten. I felt my best chance was to get this one forward thinking young man on-side and allow him, together with my persuasive arguments, to cajole the other ten around to my way of thinking.