Serious Mid Season Slumps

I've been playing FM09 now for a couple of months on have a number of different saves with different clubs/leagues. What I've noticed while playing through each of these games is that my teams seem to start each season off incredibly well and slowly but surely start to fall apart at the seams as the season goes on! I've experienced this with my save game at Shelbourne in the Irish First Division and Bradford in EL2, both are fairly decent teams for their divisions (top half predicitions for the end of season) and the squad stats i think would go to prove this.

So I've played all my friendlies at the start of each season to assess the teams quality and I was quite happy with the team I had making very few changes in terms of signings and making sure I got a few easy games in at the start of the season, so the boys morale could be good at the start of my first season. All going according to plan so far - I won my first two league matches in both saves quite easily, my Bradford team even went on a bit of a run in the League Cup upsetting Birmingham in the 2nd round. The tactics I was using aslo seemed to be working wonders with Bradford enjoying the majority of possesion and getting shots on target at every possible opportunity. I had even managed to get 17 goals in my first 5 league games!

With this good start I was hoping that I could look forward to a chance at pushing for promotion but with about 2 months into the season, my entire team slowly began to play like donkeys! Progressivly getting worse as the season continued.