When you background an app on iOS (i.e. the game is not the currently active window on screen), iOS may decide it needs to free up some memory. If so, it may close FMT in the background. To combat this, we have introduced recovery saves.
If iOS has killed the game in the background, then when you boot the game up again, the Start Screen will have a popup asking you if you want to restore your last save game. If you choose to restore it, the game will load a save from the point you backgrounded the game. If you choose not to, you can load your last manual save/autosave as normal.
Also, if you had backgrounded during a match, FMT is able to restore your mid-match progress from the point you backgrounded it. It just takes a few seconds to restore itself to the right point. As above, if you choose to not restore it, you can load your last manual save/autosave as normal.