Warning-- Extreme Newb..

Okay guys, I recently downloaded the demo version of FM08 to test out and I'm really confused...

I'm an expert of OOTP Baseball Simulations, which is also an SI Game so I'm no stranger to sports simulations.

However, I live in the US so despite knowing a lot about the actual game of soccer, I don't know much about REAL soccer that is played professionally outside of the US. All I know is that I like soccer and simulation sports so I was hoping I could have fun with the game and gain an understanding of how the leagues and championship series' work. I know its very complicated but does anyone know of any links that would explain this to a novice... Thanks in advance.

Bobby

Okay guys, I recently downloaded the demo version of FM08 to test out and I'm really confused...

I'm an expert of OOTP Baseball Simulations, which is also an SI Game so I'm no stranger to sports simulations.

However, I live in the US so despite knowing a lot about the actual game of soccer, I don't know much about REAL soccer that is played professionally outside of the US. All I know is that I like soccer and simulation sports so I was hoping I could have fun with the game and gain an understanding of how the leagues and championship series' work. I know its very complicated but does anyone know of any links that would explain this to a novice... Thanks in advance.

Bobby

Welcome aboard: as a fellow Yank convert, let me say you aren't the only one!

Really, the only thing you absolutely have to know is to call it football, not soccer, as you're on a primarily British forum. icon_wink.gif

To the meat of you question, here's a handful of links:

1. Marc Vaughan's Hint's and Tips - Introduction to the game, straight from one of the game designers.

2. Total Soccer newbiw needs help - the most recent "Let's teach an American FM" topic

3. Brand new to FM, several game and football questions - probably the most comprehensive thread along that line