Breaking the Habit, and NOT the Linkin Park song.

I was wondering if anyone had any good tips for immersing yourself into a save. I've asked for lots of advice since i joined and it's all been useful, but it seems to me like I simply don't see important clues and end up making mistakes (I AM new to the game but as a pretty big football fan it does irk me, as I ALWAYS notice these kinds of things watching Arsenal on TV).

Basically, I've realised I have 2 issues, both caused in part by not being fully immersed.

1) I don't notice what we're doing well/bad on the pitch very often, only whether we played well generally

2) I'm very bad for not paying attention to the strengths and weaknesses of my squad and my opposition.

Allow me to explain. Watching a game, I get a little bit rolled up in the drama, such as cheering late equalisers or cursing my luck at poor performances. I'm really bad at actually analysing why things happened. When I do actually view stats and highlights (which isn't often) I get a bit lost. I can take in the basics (Possession, shots, tackles, corners, shot/pass Accuracy etc.) but beyond that it just gets too complicated for my little brain.

I'm also terrible for not paying attention to my squad. I take pride in my man-to-man management as far as training and morale goes, and I'm loved by my board for my skills in managing finance, but I'm terrible tactically because I try to build a squad round my tactic, not the other way round. This is simply because I find the game a bit dull if all I do when I start a new career is stare at numbers for half an hour (Strange. Seeing how I'm studying A-Level Further Mathematics, you'd think I'm used to numbers by now). I know full well if i just paid more attention i'd be an FM king in no time. But I can just never make it habitual, and Every time i try to, I either forget to do it IMMEDIATELY or I realise I don't really know what I'm doing and I give up trying and carry on as normal.