Manager X will be wondering why he couldn't win this match?.

We have all had this post game message. You are on a roll playing well and beating everyone in sight when you get a game against lesser opposition, you pick your best team, give an invigorating green filled teamtalk at KO and also half time, you have by far the most of the possession, tackling, heading, loads of shots and lots of ccc's, outplayed the opposition completely but you still can only manage a draw. It is at times like these you find yourself imagining that the game is cheating you!. As in real life football these games do happen. I have experienced this in every version of FM since I started playing CM01 many years ago and just took it on the chin but started thinking maybe the game is telling me something and in my ire I am not seeing it?. Has anyone ever found a solution or are you like me and just call it one of those days and go on to the next match?.

I actually found that playing conservative against these kind of teams can help quite a lot. Be patient, don't try to crush them into their own half. Try to produce a handful of good chances rather then two dozen of mediocre chances. We are always inclined to go attacking against the weakest teams but they usually park the buss and make it very difficult for your team to get a good shot off and then bang hit you on the counter or score some fluke goal.

In essence what I do is switch to counter against those teams and maybe even play a slower tempo depending how how aggressive they are in terms of closing down. I also use "drop deeper" and "play wider" in order to stretch the playing field as much as possible. Even though I feel I'm not "dominating" these games as much anymore I feel I have a much better success rate against the low end of the table teams this way.

I actually found that playing conservative against these kind of teams can help quite a lot. Be patient, don't try to crush them into their own half.