My only tactic success this year

Well, it has been a rough "FM year" for me. I've tried an enormous amount of tactics, I've read an enormous amount of articles (which I've never done before but I really enjoy now), I've seen a lot of forums, I've created some threads myself, but things weren't going as I liked. I've struggled to finish my first season and at some point it was being hard to pick up the game and try again. But I did manage to go and try it again. I started a save with my favorite club, Benfica, and I decided to try a semi-real life inspired tactic of their own style of play 3 years ago. And I've come up with this:

vr7l.jpg

Players Instructions:

GK - Pass it shorter; Distribute to defenders

Both FB - Close Down More

Both CB - Ease off tackles; Pass it shorter

Defensive Midfielder (I've played him the 2nd half of the season as a DLP with the same instructions and it worked wonders too) - Pass it shorter; Tackle harder; Fewer risky passes

Advanced Playmaker (who went to support for almost all of the season) - Close down more

Right Midfielder - Shoot less often

Left Midfielder - Shoot less often; Sit narrower

Deep Lying Forward - Roam from position; Dribble more; Shoot less often

Target Man - none

The main objective of the team was to assist the Target Man. That's why I've set up 2 wide midfielders and even the left one (who I have to sit narrower) is a left foot player so he can go to the line and make a cross. The fullbacks and center backs have pretty standard roles, nothing much to add. And then there are the 3 most important roles: