+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 31 of 31

Thread: "football manager 2014 has stopped working" - a message when I QUIT the game

  1. #1
    Amateur
    Join Date
    6th December 2004
    Posts
    70

    Default "football manager 2014 has stopped working" - a message when I QUIT the game

    Whenever I finish playing the game and quit and exit to Windows I get the message: "football manager 2014 has stopped working".

    How to get rid of that issue?

  2. #2
    Semi Pro
    Join Date
    30th October 2006
    Location
    People like Coldplay and voted for the Nazis. You can't trust people.
    Posts
    2,756

    Default

    I get this from time to time on my mac too.

    A mild irritation but always seems to save the game ok so not the end of the world.

  3. #3
    First Team Squad Member
    Join Date
    8th April 2003
    Location
    XBL tag: Nadessico. I'm the tag team champions!
    Posts
    16,396

    Default

    yeah i've had it since fm13, i've just lived with it

  4. #4
    Amateur
    Join Date
    12th July 2008
    Location
    Bahrain, Liverpool, Dubai or Abu Dhabi.
    Posts
    195

    Default

    I have had the same. Must be a reason for it.

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Join Date
    28th April 2005
    Location
    Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.
    Posts
    27,888

    Default

    It's a non malignant bug won't have any effect on your game but you should bug report it as it can be fixed.

  6. #6
    Amateur
    Join Date
    6th December 2004
    Posts
    70

    Default

    Good to know that I'm not the only one who experiences this issue... :-)

  7. #7
    Amateur
    Join Date
    21st March 2012
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    86

    Default

    Same to me from FM12.

  8. #8
    Amateur
    Join Date
    3rd May 2011
    Posts
    283

    Default

    Have had this full-time with both 13 and 14 but as have been said so far it haven't really effected anything so I just live with it. Did report it for 13 and they said they fixed it a couple times but yea well... as long as it doest kill my saves.

  9. #9
    Part-Timer
    Join Date
    15th February 2005
    Location
    http://www.twitch.tv/roykela
    Posts
    1,718

    Default

    Had the same, all the time, on FM13. Haven't seen much of it with FM14 myself though.
    Don't know why that is.

  10. #10
    Amateur
    Join Date
    12th January 2010
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Same to me from FM2012.

  11. #11
    Amateur
    Join Date
    21st August 2011
    Posts
    91

    Default

    I had it on FM12 and still have it on FM12 . Did not buy FM13.No problem for me now on FM14 ..

  12. #12
    Semi Pro
    Join Date
    6th April 2007
    Posts
    2,922

    Default

    I had it with FM13 and now get it 7/10 with FM14. A guy from SI replayed to me last year saying it won't have any effect on your game and is a known issue. Didn't know it could be fixed, Kriss? Either way it doesn't bother me too much.

  13. #13
    Amateur
    Join Date
    27th September 2006
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    39

    Default

    So what the solution?

  14. #14
    Amateur
    Join Date
    22nd February 2007
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    328

    Default

    Have same issue, had it on FM 13 as well. Not sure there is any solution, beyond SI fixing it.

  15. #15
    Amateur
    Join Date
    6th November 2007
    Posts
    17

    Default

    It's not a bug, it's a feature. It's just an additional information to reassure you that closed the game and thus it stopped working

    I've had it since FM12 100% of the time.

  16. #16
    Amateur
    Join Date
    8th August 2013
    Posts
    514

    Default

    Probably because when you quit FM the process for fm.exe suddenly closes, but it doesn't cause any issues so yeah, pretty negligible.

  17. #17
    Amateur
    Join Date
    13th November 2010
    Posts
    395

    Default

    Yeah i experience it since FM 13. but just lived with it.

  18. #18
    Amateur
    Join Date
    23rd August 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    955

    Default

    Every time I close FM13 I get it. I haven't purchased FM14 as my FM13 bug report was ignored earlier this year.

  19. #19

    Default

    had it on FM13 & 14, obv not a problem at all but I noticed this time round that it happens most, but not all the time on 'normal' FM but never on FM Classic mode

  20. #20
    Amateur
    Join Date
    18th July 2011
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Had this since FM13, never caused any problems as far as I know.

  21. #21
    Moderator and Technical Support
    Join Date
    27th December 2003
    Location
    Half the lies I tell aren't true
    Posts
    33,208

    Default

    This is an issue that SI have been aware of for a while , but it has proved difficult to reproduce as it doesn't happen every time on every machine. It is not known to cause any issues so it can be ignored. I am not sure if it can be resolved but maybe Kriss can elaborate.

  22. #22
    Amateur
    Join Date
    3rd May 2011
    Posts
    283

    Default

    I'm guessing Kriss meant to say report it SO it can be fixed but I'd be happy to be proven wrong

  23. #23
    Amateur
    Join Date
    22nd September 2012
    Location
    Aboard the clock cycles and falling more than rising
    Posts
    356

    Default

    I have had that issue, but believed it is a Windows issue when the game is shut down, rather than the game itself.

  24. #24
    Amateur
    Join Date
    6th November 2005
    Posts
    850

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mato View Post
    So what the solution?
    Pressing the X in the top right hand side corner of the message works every time for me.....

  25. #25
    Amateur
    Join Date
    31st October 2013
    Posts
    617

    Default

    used get this alot but I normally clear cache and verify game

  26. #26
    Amateur
    Join Date
    23rd August 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    955

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SurferJames View Post
    used get this alot but I normally clear cache and verify game
    And that fixed it? Or not?

  27. #27
    Youth Team
    Join Date
    17th May 2010
    Posts
    4,510

    Default

    There's nothing really to fix. It isn't an issue, just close and ignore it. It'll be something SI need to do I imagine to stop it happening, and it's been there in a few editions.

  28. #28
    Amateur
    Join Date
    23rd August 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    955

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by forameuss View Post
    There's nothing really to fix. It isn't an issue, just close and ignore it. It'll be something SI need to do I imagine to stop it happening, and it's been there in a few editions.
    An error message is nothing to fix? First time I've heard that.

  29. #29
    Youth Team
    Join Date
    17th May 2010
    Posts
    4,510

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wonky View Post
    An error message is nothing to fix? First time I've heard that.
    Your post seemed to be asking whether the solution another poster suggested fixed it. I was saying that anything the user does is unlikely to fix it, and it would be something SI would need to look at. Then given it's doing absolutely no harm, I doubt it's particularly high on their to-do list. I thought that was pretty clear.

  30. #30
    Amateur
    Join Date
    5th September 2011
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    47

    Default

    Reinstall steam by closing Steam --> deleting everything exept Steam.exe and the SteamApps folder

    re-launch steam

    seems to have fixed it, not sure though. only closed the game once since re-installing

  31. #31
    Amateur
    Join Date
    21st March 2010
    Posts
    55

    Default

    I have just had this error the first time i have come across it on this years game (just started a new game too), i used to get it quite frequently on FM13 as far as i am aware it doesnt effect your save.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts