What are the real stats when it comes to interceptions?

Completely making this up, but I would have thought Anticipation and Positioning? Anticipation to react before anyone else, and positioning to read the play and put themselves in the best place to make the interception. Also roles would have an impact I think... For instance I see a Stopper making lots of interceptions as it's kind of their job.

Interesting about Distin though. Would love to hear one of the expert's opinions!

• 4 months later...

I am not an expert in football tactics, but I wanted to share some feedback.

Foreword: I've always personally found interceptions in this game to be better than tackles. I dislike seeing the ball passed right through my defense, or to see last ditch tackles result in dangerous free-kicks or even penalties.

To that end I've personally tried to aim for my team to do more interceptions, not only in defense, but also starting from the midfield.

In terms of Silvain Distin. He has comfortable tackling, marking and very good strength and balance.

Coupled with his PPM, that he doesnt like to do slide-in tackles.

This tells the game engine that Distin is to tackle on-feet, and because of his high strength and good balance, he uses his sheer physicality to wrest the ball away from his opponent without much fuss.

He also has a comfortable positioning attribute, means he knows where to go to be more successfull in this endeavor.

Don't forget his high Jumping Reach. Getting first to a high ball that was originally a pass/cross to an opponent, is also considered an interception.

Yes, Anticipation is a very valuable attribute in terms of getting good interceptions, but there are many ways in which you get them.

Don't forget that many of the attributes work together in the match engine.

Strength + Balance - A player with high values here can hold his own, and coupled with Bravery and Determination, is not afraid to get into the thick of it.