The Stuttgart Academy Of Higher Learning – An Attempt to Learn to Master the Game

I’m going into this project knowing that it’s about learning. I am not an expert FM player and I have not hit the mark with many of my posts so far. So as you read this do not think of this as advice you can go out and use. In fact, question everything you read here. There is a better chance that I’m wrong than right.

So, why write such extensive posts?

Simple! I’m pretty sure experts such as Cleon, wwfan, lam and all the others started at the same point I’m at. I’m willing to bet they had a learning curve as well. In fact, I believe if you ask them they will tell you they still have much to learn. The best teachers are those who realize they have yet to learn more than they already know.

This thread is for me. I start this for selfish reasons. Having played the game since the early CM incarnations I feel it’s about bloody time I get an idea what I’m doing. However, should you learn anything from this it would please me no end.

I couldn’t even attempt to do take this approach to a save if it wasn’t for the many prolific writers on the tactics and training forum so a big :thup: to those guys!

Where to start?

Why, at the top of the forum of course.

The Twelve Steps

http://community.sigames.com/showthread.php/332585-How-to-Play-FM13-A-Twelve-Step-Guide

wwfan’s twelve step guide is a better place to start than most. So, I’ve loaded up a new save with Stuttgart and I’ll take it from there.

Step 1 – I have admitted that I know not what I’m doing in terms of playing the game and I am now changing my approach.

Step 2 – I don’t know exactly what each slider does and will happily stay with the TC.

Step 3 – I don’t know my players yet so I can’t really say what my main strategy will be, but it is duly noted that attacking doesn’t mean all-out attack and that defensive doesn’t mean no attacks will be made.