Quitting Football Manager

Hey everyone!

I would really appreciate your help in this problem, which is a very serious issue for me. I am a fourth year statistics student at U of T, and a huge fan of football manager. I bought Football Manager 2011 close to when it was first released. I never updated to FM 2012 but I play FM 2011 a lot. Being in my fourth year, this is very problematic indeed. I need a good GPA to make it to Grad School, and things are difficult enough already as I suffer from a medical condition that causes frequent and long sessions of ruminating thoughts (I am on medication for this). Many of the ruminating thoughts center around FM, so it is negatively affecting my health as well as GPA. I can understand why some of you might think this is a joke but it has caused me considerable distress.

Now to the problem. Whenever I try to delete FM for good and even steam, there is the option to reinstall both steam and then FM again due to my purchase. I have tried many things, but I can't find a solution. I would appreciate if you could tell me of a permanent way to delete FM. A permanent way such that the only way to play FM is to buy it again.

I may like to purchase FM 2013 as I am hoping to be done university by the end of this year. But for now, I would like to concentrate on studies and other things in life.

Thanks you!

There is no permanent way, though you can certainly try.

If you find addiction to be an issue, you may wish to speak to a medical professional.

Your University may well also provide you with support as you are probably not alone.

One suggestion is to plan your day properly, and stick to it. Discipline is the only way. Reward yourself when you stick to the plan (don't play the game, though, reward as in grab a chocolate bar or something). And of course set aside a sensible amount of time for FM in your plan. If you stick to your plan then you can stick to your gaming schedule too.