Closed Thread
Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Offline Mode

  1. #1
    Amateur
    Join Date
    13th August 2011
    Posts
    66

    Default Offline Mode

    Hi guys, I've taken my laptop to work to play FM this evening but i forgot to switch steam to offline mode. Is there anyone of doing this without having the internet. I cant even get on the editor.

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Part-Timer
    Join Date
    12th July 2011
    Location
    Edgar Street
    Posts
    1,670

    Default

    How are you on this if you have no internet?

  3. #3
    Amateur
    Join Date
    13th August 2011
    Posts
    66

    Default

    Im using my iphone

  4. #4
    Amateur
    Join Date
    4th January 2011
    Posts
    115

    Default

    My guess is he is on his work computer posting to the forums, but wants to play on his laptop which has no internet.

    No, this is an ongoing frustration with steam. You have to set it to offline while online to guarantee it will work offline. Otherwise it is a roll of the dice, sometimes it works, sometimes not. If it doesn't work, it will not work without connecting to the internet.

    I recommend having steam permanently in offline mode (once you can set it as such) except when you need to use it online to avoid this problem.

  5. #5
    Amateur
    Join Date
    13th August 2011
    Posts
    66

    Default

    Thanks for you help

  6. #6
    Third Team
    Join Date
    6th August 2007
    Posts
    8,481

    Default

    Create a hotspot on your iPhone & tether your laptop to use the 3G to set Steam to Offline mode.

  7. #7
    Amateur
    Join Date
    13th August 2011
    Posts
    66

    Default

    Ive tried that and it still wont work. It says steam is already running. You may only run one copy of steam at a time.

  8. #8
    Amateur
    Join Date
    4th January 2011
    Posts
    115

    Default

    Force close steam (alt-ctrl-del), tether and restart steam. Then switch to offline.

  9. #9
    Third Team
    Join Date
    6th December 2005
    Location
    Hugo Boss
    Posts
    9,658

    Default

    You don't need to do any of that. Just start steam. It'll say no Internet available or something then ask if you want to retry or start in offline mode. At least that's what mine has just done and does every time I'm not connected.

  10. #10
    Amateur
    Join Date
    4th January 2011
    Posts
    115

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by edgar555 View Post
    You don't need to do any of that. Just start steam. It'll say no Internet available or something then ask if you want to retry or start in offline mode. At least that's what mine has just done and does every time I'm not connected.
    Except when it doesn't. It's a well know issue with steam that if you don't set it to offline mode it won't always give you the option to start and will sometimes insist on connecting to the internet.

  11. #11
    Amateur
    Join Date
    4th January 2011
    Posts
    115

    Default

    Double post

  12. #12
    Part-Timer
    Join Date
    5th September 2009
    Posts
    1,048

    Default

    Ive had this problem before. Is there any wi fi hot spots such as a cafe near by? Go there enjoy a coffee set steam offline and then browse the web?

  13. #13
    Third Team
    Join Date
    6th December 2005
    Location
    Hugo Boss
    Posts
    9,658

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lonestar190 View Post
    Except when it doesn't. It's a well know issue with steam that if you don't set it to offline mode it won't always give you the option to start and will sometimes insist on connecting to the internet.
    Or except when you fail to read my post. I've never had that problem, as I clearly stated. If others have I can only sympathise.

  14. #14
    Moderator
    Join Date
    28th April 2005
    Location
    Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.
    Posts
    29,108

    Default

    It does happen, nobody (including Valve it seems) knows why.

  15. #15
    Amateur
    Join Date
    4th January 2011
    Posts
    115

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by edgar555 View Post
    Or except when you fail to read my post. I've never had that problem, as I clearly stated. If others have I can only sympathise.
    I read your post just fine. You indicated it wan't an issue, and acted like the OP should just be able to do what you did and didnt need to reconnect to the internet (which he does). I assumed you were lucky and therefore merely oblivious to the issue, so I informed you that it doesn't always work that way and it is a known issue. If you knew there was an issue and it didn't work for everyone, then you were just being a jerk.

  16. #16
    Moderator
    Join Date
    28th April 2005
    Location
    Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.
    Posts
    29,108

    Default

    Stop with the handbags folks, it is sometimes an issue for some people, enough said.

Closed Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts