2020: England needs Rebuilding

Background

The year is 2020 and on my save I'm just been appointed England manager. Whilst I am also a manager at club level too, this thread will focus purely on my international management of England, as I try to take them to WC2022 and glory.

The reason for making this thread comes largely down to the fact that in my save, England's core group of players are all coming to the end of their careers, and as the new manager it's my job to blend old with new & slowly ease out the aging, whilst still qualifying for WC2022.

England's success since 2012 has been prretty good. They won Euro 2012, came third in the 2013 Confederations Cup & third at the most recent World Cup, in 2018. They also made the semi finals of Euro 2020, losing to the old-enemy, Germany. However that generation has now come to a close, players who were at their peak are now what I would consider at the upper limit of their age at which I can consider them. The likes of Ryan Shawcross, Craig Dawson, Kyle Walker, Chris Smalling, Tom Cleverley, Wayne Rooney and Theo Walcott, all regulars in England sides of the past 5 years, are all over the age of 30. It was that generation's last chance at silverware, but they succumbed and now it's time to bring in a new era.

The Future

However, there is not a huge amount of talent coming through the ranks to replace those listed above (and others). Whilst there are a few good younger players, and the odd gem, on the whole England are not on the same level as other nations and, similar to real life at the moment, are going to have to adjust to do well. Rather than try to match sides at their own game, I like to keep it tight, make my side very difficult to break down and then use pace to break on the counter. We've got the players to do this, with the likes of Jack Rodwell to break up opponent moves & the pace of Raheem Sterling & Alex Chamberlain to launch counter attacks.