+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 52 of 52

Thread: Seriously? AI is cheating or HUGE bug?

  1. #1

    Exclamation Seriously? AI is cheating or HUGE bug?



    At the moment I'm boiling with hate!

    This has happened me once before but this time was too much. It was important match.

    Europa League 4th Qual. Round leg 2. (Agains Saint-Etienne. Firts leg was played home and it ended 0-0.)

    It is still 0 - 0 in Saint-Etienne's home after first half. I decide to make some substitutions. I go to the tactics screen at 62. minute and I do two substitutions. Then I try to click "Confirm Changes" but game doesn't respond. At the same time match time starts to fly and it is 76. minute when game finaly respond to my clicking. So I return to match view and can't belive my eyes! It is now 2-0!!!

    So they scored while I was doing my substitutions.. right?

    My settings are: play crowd sound and replay goals.

    During my time in tactic screen. Crowd did not react in anyway when their team made two goals. There was no re-plays. And comentary line did not say that there were any goals.

    I stop the match and went to report screed to see what happened and the biggest suprise..

    They scored at the 55. and 58. minute!!! At that time I was watching the match and I can sure you there was no goals. Report didnt even say how those goals were made!?!!?

    I lost all passion for this game.
    Last edited by FrazT; 24-04-2012 at 20:28. Reason: Language

  2. #2
    Part-Timer
    Join Date
    12th July 2011
    Location
    Edgar Street
    Posts
    1,662

    Default

    ive had it when they score without saying. mainly in friendlys tho

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FMtillidie View Post
    ive had it when they score without saying. mainly in friendlys tho
    But I was watching when they supposedly made those goals.

  4. #4

    Default

    And more strange things. One of my players took yellow card. I saw it.

    The blue timeline thing show that there was yellow card but information disappear from this players "data".

    I have also "detailed match stats" box in my match view. Yellow card information has disappear from those start too.
    Last edited by FrazT; 25-04-2012 at 11:00. Reason: Language

  5. #5

    Default

    Ok. More strange stuff. Match is still on. I stopped it to post here..

    I continued match but match speed chanced to default (slooow) and full match instead of key.. seriously am I becaming crazy or is did my FM took some acid?

  6. #6

    Default

    HAHA <snip> continue.

    The player that took that yellow card I mentoined earlier took another yellow card. But as I said first one was forgotten or something..

    It is full time now. What the hell am I going to say to my team? Maybe "You played well but unfortunately this game is buggy or cheating and thats why is wasn't out night tonight".
    Last edited by FrazT; 25-04-2012 at 11:00. Reason: Language

  7. #7
    Semi Pro
    Join Date
    10th July 2006
    Posts
    2,862

    Default

    It's a known bug that's been in the game for years. Apparently SI have no idea what causes it so they can't fix it. I've had it twice in FM12, once I got awarded a goal that never happened to change my 3-0 win into a 4-0 and the other time it changed to award me a loss in a game that was played out as a draw.

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Äktsjon Männ View Post
    It's a known bug that's been in the game for years. Apparently SI have no idea what causes it so they can't fix it. I've had it twice in FM12, once I got awarded a goal that never happened to change my 3-0 win into a 4-0 and the other time it changed to award me a loss in a game that was played out as a draw.
    Really? I have never heard this one before!

    The match ended 3-1 and two last goals were noted properly in report.

  9. #9

    Default

    I saved this match. So if SI is interested I can send it.

    I also watched highlights. They showes only 2-1 and 3-1 goals. So those 2 first once never happened.


    + I'm angry that I didnt get Europa League now.
    Last edited by Kriss; 24-04-2012 at 21:06.

  10. #10
    Moderator
    Join Date
    28th April 2005
    Location
    Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.
    Posts
    27,613

    Default

    Without the language please

    If you'd like to post in the bugs forum (upload instructions are there) I'm sure they'll take a look.

  11. #11
    Third Team
    Join Date
    11th October 2005
    Location
    Rock>>Me<<Hard Place
    Posts
    8,127

    Default

    I would advise pausing the game before making tactics, just so they can't score while you are tinkering.

  12. #12
    Amateur
    Join Date
    1st October 2008
    Posts
    479

    Default

    That is unbelievable....

    If ever there was a case for restarting....

  13. #13
    Amateur
    Join Date
    26th July 2011
    Location
    Sunny Skegness
    Posts
    780

    Default

    Think I would be resetting as well in this case. I have no problem with losing but I have to lose fairly and in this case you can count yourself as cheated.

    Only time I noticed something wrong with the game was when my AML scored but my striker got credited with the goal. Thought I was cracking up so checked the replay several times to see if I was being an idiot but my striker was on the other side of the penalty area and never got near the ball.

  14. #14
    Third Team
    Join Date
    29th April 2003
    Location
    Feels he should be in the game
    Posts
    6,979

    Default

    Maybe one should not post while still boiling with hate...

    Anyway, that's not the AI cheating but fairly obviously a bug which should be reported at the appropriate place.
    Obviously I agree that this should not happen.

  15. #15
    Amateur
    Join Date
    13th July 2011
    Posts
    8

    Default

    just the fm2012 bug, and thats why i dont play fm2012 now.

  16. #16
    Amateur
    Join Date
    13th July 2011
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kenco View Post
    I would advise pausing the game before making tactics, just so they can't score while you are tinkering.
    absolutely The only solution to the bug.

  17. #17
    Part-Timer
    Join Date
    31st July 2010
    Location
    Playing FM here: http://fm-fmo.weebly.com
    Posts
    1,748

    Default

    Is this linked to not pausing the game when changing stuff? I always pause the game when making substitutions and tactical changes, and even shouts. I've never had this happen in 4 years of playing, and what must be now literally 1000's of watched matches.

  18. #18
    Sports Interactive Neil Brock's Avatar
    Join Date
    6th June 2005
    Location
    Gary Busey's dustbin
    Posts
    49,326

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 642222 View Post
    just the fm2012 bug, and thats why i dont play fm2012 now.
    Hate to say it but I reckon this issue has been in the game since around FM08, it's really an incredibly difficult rare bug to track down.

  19. #19
    Amateur
    Join Date
    13th July 2011
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Neil Brock View Post
    Hate to say it but I reckon this issue has been in the game since around FM08, it's really an incredibly difficult rare bug to track down.
    really??!! i started since fm10, but never found this bug in earlier versions, until fm2012 came out~~

  20. #20
    Sports Interactive Neil Brock's Avatar
    Join Date
    6th June 2005
    Location
    Gary Busey's dustbin
    Posts
    49,326

    Default

    In previous versions it seemed slightly more common if a game went to extra-time, but even then it's really quite rare. Incredibly frustrating mind, both for users and us here.

  21. #21
    First Team Squad Member
    Join Date
    9th November 2010
    Location
    Standing free, wherever i may be
    Posts
    15,094

    Default

    Ive only come across this once in all my years but it was in 12, i worked in my favour through the AI not getting a goal but i still lost, but i wasnt making any changes or anything when it happened, the ME just started stuttering, they scored, celebrated, game kicked off at the same score and the goal wasnt on the time line.

  22. #22
    Third Team
    Join Date
    27th September 2007
    Location
    Ågotnes Stadion, Ågotnes
    Posts
    8,473

    Default

    I remember this in FM11, I won a penalty shoot out, but all of a sudden was told I had lost in extra time, ruined that game for me, I never went back to it.

  23. #23
    Moderator
    Join Date
    28th April 2005
    Location
    Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.
    Posts
    27,613

    Default

    It happened a lot in FML and we had several variations of the ME.

  24. #24
    Amateur
    Join Date
    21st January 2011
    Posts
    444

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Erimus1876 View Post
    Is this linked to not pausing the game when changing stuff? I always pause the game when making substitutions and tactical changes, and even shouts. I've never had this happen in 4 years of playing, and what must be now literally 1000's of watched matches.
    I'm in the same boat, I always pause before tinkering. I vaguely remember something similar happening ages ago which was a red card for my team for which there was no replay or description of in the match report. So that probably also fits into this bug.

  25. #25
    Part-Timer
    Join Date
    17th May 2007
    Location
    In galaxy far, far away...
    Posts
    1,726

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Neil Brock View Post
    In previous versions it seemed slightly more common if a game went to extra-time, but even then it's really quite rare. Incredibly frustrating mind, both for users and us here.
    Been playing FM07 since 2006 when it was released and play my share of extra-time games, never found this bug ever.

  26. #26
    Amateur
    Join Date
    18th July 2006
    Location
    The Capital of Europe
    Posts
    447

    Default

    I had the same thing, a red card that never happened. A goal from my team cancelled from the scoreboard and a penalty for the opposition that never happened. And if I won this game I would have received a Promotion Ticket.

    This FM has deserved his nickname "Bugsie". So instead of 3-1, the game decided to give me a 2-2 and I lost my best player for one match. One word, ridiculous.

    The most funny thing is, that you can see the red carded player, playing the whole match like nothing happened. Is this the new Blatter feature?
    Last edited by fabioke; 27-04-2012 at 20:52.

  27. #27
    Amateur
    Join Date
    18th July 2006
    Location
    The Capital of Europe
    Posts
    447

    Default

    Should SI want to see the pictures, I'm willing to post them. They can print them out and hang them on their wall of shame. Maybe instead of swimming in their swimming pool full of coins, they will start fixing bugs. I don't believe that this happened before FM2010, you can prove me wrong with a thread in the bugs forum from that date.
    Last edited by fabioke; 27-04-2012 at 20:56.

  28. #28
    Reserves
    Join Date
    4th March 2004
    Location
    Granada, Spain @GranadaCdeF_en & @HeathISF Editor: InsideSpanishFootball.com
    Posts
    10,700

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by grade View Post
    Been playing FM07 since 2006 when it was released and play my share of extra-time games, never found this bug ever.
    Me either. Though obviously would be quite handy if "bonus" goals were awarded in favour of my own team...

  29. #29
    Moderator
    Join Date
    28th April 2005
    Location
    Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.
    Posts
    27,613

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fabioke View Post
    Should SI want to see the pictures, I'm willing to post them. They can print them out and hang them on their wall of shame. Maybe instead of swimming in their swimming pool full of coins, they will start fixing bugs. I don't believe that this happened before FM2010, you can prove me wrong with a thread in the bugs forum from that date.
    This is a bug report from FM09 (FM08 isn't easy to get at) I can't link you as you don't have access so have C&P'd.

    06-04-2009 18:39

    #1


    Jed_Leeds_ United_ Fan

    AmateurJoin Date31st March 2009LocationLeedsPosts316
    [h=2] I win league cup game, then after it said iv lost!?[/h]
    Just started my second season with leeds. After winning league one with 112 points in my first season n won the JP trophy, I was very much looking forward to the next one in the championship!

    But in my second game, league cup 1st round away to mansfield town. After 90 mins the score was 1-1, but into extra time Krivets bagged (2) late goals and the final score finnished 3-1 to me.. Yet low and behold, straight after the game it says iv lost 5-4 on penalties after a 2-2 draw!! lol... completly different scorers, and when i look at the replys of the goals, they all show reply of krivets winners lol.

    Anyone else had a problem like this? Lookily the game saved automatically bfor the game so I can just replay it.. But kind of makes me not wana play the game anymore.. grr....

    And another

    14-03-2009 17:20

    #1


    Mullers

    AmateurJoin Date30th July 2008LocationEssexPosts283
    [h=2] (9.3.0) how?[/h]
    I'm playing Manchester United in the League Cup 4th round as West Ham, It's 1-1 after 90 minutes. Go deep into extra time and on 109 minutes Breno scores with a goal from a corner, no surprises there. So time goes on and the game finishes I've won 2-1... but hang on the game engine claims that Carlos Tevez scored in the 114th minute when even the timeline bit at the bottom of the screen clearly shows no recollection of the goal. Ok so I swallow that, hopefully I'll win on penalties I score all 4 of mine and Owen Hargreaves steps up(Carlos Tevez already missed Man Utd's first penalty) he misses I've won.... no wait I haven't the game freezes. Also whilst penalties are happening I switched from tv view to classic there are two different sets of penalty takers for TV and Classic View. I've just left the game as it is Owen Hargreaves in the middle of the box having hit the post, hoping that perhaps the game will just allow Man Utd to lose. I'm gutted at the possibility of knocking out Man Utd being completely wiped because of a disastrous bug.



    Last edited by Kriss; 27-04-2012 at 21:14.

  30. #30
    Moderator
    Join Date
    28th April 2005
    Location
    Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.
    Posts
    27,613

    Default

    From FM08

    23-09-2008 01:08

    #1


    bobdodge

    AmateurJoin Date31st May 2008LocationManchesterPosts59
    [h=2] Wrong scorelines[/h]
    My bug is where id be in a match and the commentary will say I've scored but on the screen in highlight mode it will show my players just passing the ball around or something like the ball out of play and then the scoreline at the top of the screen doesn't agree with the commentary because its still 0-0 and the game will end 2-2 but when i come out of the match and go back to my inbox it says I've lost 3-1. this bug really makes the game unplayable. i do remember this bug being documented somewhere on the old forum design but i can no longer find it and I'm still waiting for a patch or a fix for this bug. replies appreciated.


  31. #31
    Moderator
    Join Date
    28th April 2005
    Location
    Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.
    Posts
    27,613

    Default

    Fwiw my theory is that when you make a change and it recalculates the result, very occasionally the recalc goes wrong (best I can do)

  32. #32

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kriss View Post
    From FM08

    23-09-2008 01:08

    #1


    bobdodge

    AmateurJoin Date31st May 2008LocationManchesterPosts59
    [h=2] Wrong scorelines[/h]
    My bug is where id be in a match and the commentary will say I've scored but on the screen in highlight mode it will show my players just passing the ball around or something like the ball out of play and then the scoreline at the top of the screen doesn't agree with the commentary because its still 0-0 and the game will end 2-2 but when i come out of the match and go back to my inbox it says I've lost 3-1. this bug really makes the game unplayable. i do remember this bug being documented somewhere on the old forum design but i can no longer find it and I'm still waiting for a patch or a fix for this bug. replies appreciated.

    I dont think this kind if bug is the same one I experienced. In this one the result chace after match.. or the player didnt noticed the scoreboard chaces during match.

  33. #33
    Moderator
    Join Date
    28th April 2005
    Location
    Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.
    Posts
    27,613

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by R.P. McMurphy View Post
    I dont think this kind if bug is the same one I experienced. In this one the result chace after match.. or the player didnt noticed the scoreboard chaces during match.
    That was just the first I came across (they didn't have a separate ME bug forum then) there are variations of the problem and some which are more similar to yours, but I was just showing that it has been around a long time as Neil said.

  34. #34
    Amateur
    Join Date
    18th July 2006
    Location
    The Capital of Europe
    Posts
    447

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kriss View Post
    That was just the first I came across (they didn't have a separate ME bug forum then) there are variations of the problem and some which are more similar to yours, but I was just showing that it has been around a long time as Neil said.
    @Kriss, thank you for your prompt reply. Maybe I just got bad luck with this edition, I feel that I'm stumbling into every major bug. I hope that the guys at SI will have the same passion and love for the game as the moderators and the community, so I can be assured that the most urgent issues will be fixed before FM2013 comes out.

  35. #35
    Moderator
    Join Date
    28th April 2005
    Location
    Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.
    Posts
    27,613

    Default

    Well it is a ME problem and they are working on a new edition of the ME, so we can only hope that when it arrives it does eradicate some of the long standing issues.
    This ME has evolved from something created over 15 years ago and PaulC made it clear that parts had become so complex they had no real room left for adjustment, milnerpoint can probably come up with a car analogy for it

    I'll just caution you here that there's no guarantee it'll arrive for FM13, we have to wait for news on that but SI have at least as much passion and love for the game as us so they'll keep trying to make it better.

  36. #36
    Third Team
    Join Date
    14th November 2008
    Location
    Sarajevo
    Posts
    8,121

    Default

    Question mark and then full stop? Seriously?
    www.fmbosnia.com - The game starts here

  37. #37
    Amateur
    Join Date
    22nd September 2005
    Posts
    106

    Default

    I've experienced something similar. It was 22nd minute, 0-0 and I went to tactic screen to adjust tactics. Seconds later tha half-time team talk screen appeared, and I was 0-2 down. Rather infuriating...

  38. #38
    Amateur
    Join Date
    18th August 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I always pause the match before go to the tactics screen and I never had this kind of problems.

  39. #39
    Amateur
    Join Date
    3rd August 2010
    Posts
    189

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jagermeister View Post
    I always pause the match before go to the tactics screen and I never had this kind of problems.
    This..

    And never came across this bug. Been playing FM since FM 10 Guess I'm lucky

  40. #40
    Amateur
    Join Date
    29th April 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I just read this thread about 20 mins ago. I've been playing FM since championship manager 97-98 and have never had this problem. Then literally 2 mins later im playing Chelsea in the cup. Go to make a sub when its 0-0 with 70 mins gone. Come back to the game and Torres bangs one in for Chelsea. Gutted...... Oh no wait Rooney has apparently scored twice earlier on in the match. FT a 2-1 win. Im not gonna complain but id hate to be on the receiving end.

  41. #41

    Default

    It really doesn't matter whether you stop the game or not. This bug will happen if it is going happen.

  42. #42

    Default

    This seems to happen mostly in cup competitions.

  43. #43

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Fabio MVP View Post
    Question mark and then full stop? Seriously?
    Headline was censored

  44. #44
    Moderator
    Join Date
    28th April 2005
    Location
    Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.
    Posts
    27,613

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by R.P. McMurphy View Post
    This seems to happen mostly in cup competitions.
    Seems to actually show up most in extra time, so yes.

  45. #45
    Amateur
    Join Date
    29th April 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Wow just happened again. I was playing Norwich in the semi final of the fa cup. Actually had Nani and Rooney sent off before half time. Managed to get to the 117 min and i decided to bring some subs on with good penalty taking skills. Made them, came back to the game and apparently Hernandez had put one away in the 95th. Im in the final??

  46. #46
    Part-Timer
    Join Date
    9th November 2011
    Posts
    1,200

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 642222 View Post
    just the fm2012 bug, and thats why i dont play fm2012 now.
    The bug has been in the game for years, has no apparent trigger and so can't be replicated, because there is no obvious trigger for it and therefore no way of replicating it they can't fix it because even if they do something that they think might work they have no way of trying to set the bug off to test whether or not their solution has worked.

    It's one of those things that would take a horrible number of man hours to fix and is so rare that it simply isn't worth the amount of time, effort and money that it would take to rid the game of this bug.

    Also, I have had this bug happen to me once on FM08, twice on FM10, once on FM11 and no times on FM09 and FM12, so it isn't just an FM12 bug at all.

  47. #47
    Amateur
    Join Date
    29th October 2002
    Location
    Ryomgård, Denmark
    Posts
    360

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Erimus1876 View Post
    Is this linked to not pausing the game when changing stuff? I always pause the game when making substitutions and tactical changes, and even shouts. I've never had this happen in 4 years of playing, and what must be now literally 1000's of watched matches.
    Might be, but not in all cases anyway. I am playing FM08 still, and I always pause the game before making any changes - I have still had this bug happen to me once (Once in extremely many matches). It is very, very rare.

  48. #48

    Default

    **** **** ***** **** ***** ****

    It happened again!!! This time in CL match against Roma. I lost 3-1. Roma got one extra special magic invisible goal.

    This is really ruining the gaming experience.

    Perhaps I have to save game before every cup and CL match.

    I'm disappointed SI.

  49. #49
    Part-Timer
    Join Date
    3rd October 2008
    Location
    Cheshire
    Posts
    1,198

    Default

    I've never had this bug. Just out of interest, for those affected, are you running a daabase that's been edited, or just the normal one wih the last patch? I've never used the editor and haven't had the issue.

  50. #50
    Amateur
    Join Date
    18th July 2006
    Location
    The Capital of Europe
    Posts
    447

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Northernpilgrim View Post
    I've never had this bug. Just out of interest, for those affected, are you running a daabase that's been edited, or just the normal one wih the last patch? I've never used the editor and haven't had the issue.
    Normal database with the latest patch.

  51. #51
    Amateur
    Join Date
    27th August 2011
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    363

    Default

    I get this on FM11 about once every 50 matches. Almost always it works out in my favour though. I played one match this morning and ended up winning 3-2 when I could have sworn it was 2-2. Thanks phantom goal!

  52. #52
    Amateur
    Join Date
    3rd November 2011
    Location
    I exist only in dreams
    Posts
    37

    Default

    I always pause the game then click the tactics screen... it doesnt happen then... the reason why its happening is simply because the game is continuing when you change screen.. its not a bug ...... by mistake a few times aroudn 80mins i'ev wanted to make a change and forgot to pause... by the time I've worked out what I want to do and go back the game was over....

    ALWAYS PAUSE THE GAME..

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts