+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 27 of 27

Thread: Has Fm12 broken two of my computers?!

  1. #1
    Amateur
    Join Date
    7th April 2012
    Posts
    23

    Exclamation Has Fm12 broken two of my computers?!

    Long time fm player since cm days in 1994. Have been playing fm12 on my dual core pc which suddenly started switching itself off in the middle of a game - as if it was overheating. Oh well I thought, it's about time I bought a new pc so have been toying with the idea of a laptop. However, while looking my dad lent me his dual core pc to continue the save and the same thing has happened again. Now both pc's refuse to function properly and crash constantly during fm12, with the loan pc refusing to boot at all. Googling this it seems a few (minority) have also had this issue. I know fm12 is processor intensive but I only play with English leagues and small db. I do NOT want to spend money on laptop only to have it fried. Can fm have broken my pc's or is it a horrible coincidence? Please help. BTWi am not a new poster, previous posts under dion/'s jock strap.
    looking forward to your views.......

  2. #2
    Reserves
    Join Date
    20th May 2006
    Location
    Prettier than Luke Chadwick... Just
    Posts
    10,176

    Default

    You've just confessed to having an alias. You might get banned for that unless you have a good reason or have arranged it with SI or whatever. Just so you know.

  3. #3
    Third Team
    Join Date
    6th August 2007
    Posts
    8,481

    Default

    Highly improbable that a single nation, small db has fried two cpu's.

    My hunch is that you have a power supply issue & could have fried both psu's by plugging them into the same faulty power socket/extension cord.

  4. #4
    Amateur
    Join Date
    7th April 2012
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike7077 View Post
    You've just confessed to having an alias. You might get banned for that unless you have a good reason or have arranged it with SI or whatever. Just so you know.
    Previous account I cant access from home. If I get banned that will just top my day. Lol

  5. #5
    Amateur
    Join Date
    7th April 2012
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Barside View Post
    Highly improbable that a single nation, small db has fried two cpu's.

    My hunch is that you have a power supply issue & could have fried both psu's by plugging them into the same faulty power socket/extension cord.
    I thought that and tested power cable and tried different sockets. Neither was problem. Really hope it's just a nasty coincidence but I admit to not being very technical...

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Join Date
    28th April 2005
    Location
    Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.
    Posts
    29,208

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Daddiosk13 View Post
    Previous account I cant access from home. If I get banned that will just top my day. Lol
    Why not? you can access a forum account from anywhere so this puzzles me a mite

  7. #7
    Amateur
    Join Date
    7th April 2012
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kriss View Post
    Why not? you can access a forum account from anywhere so this puzzles me a mite
    Work email address and work server shut down over Easter

  8. #8
    Semi Pro
    Join Date
    13th August 2009
    Location
    The past, in defiance of the present and the future
    Posts
    2,518

    Default

    undoubtedly. i recommend legal action

  9. #9
    Amateur
    Join Date
    7th April 2012
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wiggins' Young Boys View Post
    undoubtedly. i recommend legal action
    Not the help I was looking for but ta anyway.

  10. #10
    Amateur
    Join Date
    7th April 2012
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Daddiosk13 View Post
    Work email address and work server shut down over Easter
    And can't remember password as always logged in at work

  11. #11
    Part-Timer
    Join Date
    11th September 2004
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,852

    Default

    Well, if the laptop has a problem (e.g. broken/clogged up fan) running FM may provoke it to the point of overheating in a way casual web browsing or whatever won't. They should shut down gracefully and come back on once cooled-down though. If you can't even boot anymore then I would guess that it's more of an electrical (power supply) problem. Using the correct power adapters? From a good wall socket?

  12. #12
    Amateur
    Join Date
    30th September 2007
    Location
    Birmingham
    Posts
    417

    Default

    What an excellent employee, grafting away on a.......PC game forum......

  13. #13
    Reserves
    Join Date
    2nd December 2001
    Location
    To: Women, From: God
    Posts
    11,234

    Default

    I have a failing hard drive too, blue screen of death and seems to have started since FM12. But have no proof this is the case. Does have a heating problem though, Acer Aspire 5735.

  14. #14
    Amateur
    Join Date
    7th April 2012
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Thanks for helpful questions scab. Both failures are desktops but considering laptop replacement. Have tried wall sockets t. Just for avoidance of doubt I am not fm bashing here, I just want some advice before splaying 400 quid on a laptop!

  15. #15
    Amateur
    Join Date
    7th April 2012
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by M.U.F.C....TSVR View Post
    What an excellent employee, grafting away on a.......PC game forum......
    Lunch breaks. Best thing since the minimum wage

  16. #16
    Youth Team
    Join Date
    29th October 2007
    Location
    Living life in lower leagues using my own guidelines,searching for hours for just the right player.
    Posts
    5,529

    Default

    Ok,

    Games do not break computers/laptops.

    That is the short answer.

    The longer answer is..
    It could be many things,it could be your PSU(power supply)has just gave in or is in the process of giving in.
    It could be also your GPU(graphic card)is over heating so it switches your PC/Laptop off to save it from frying.
    It could also be something as simple as you have your fans full with dust so the card/PC is not getting the cooling it needs.

    I would suggest first checking your system for dust and clean it out,I would also suggest you turn up your GPU fan using a program like Rivatuner and see if that helps.

    If these things do not work then both your systems were on there way out and has nothing to do with the game,time to get yourself a new system.

    I would try what I mentioned above as it could be something very simple to sort.

  17. #17
    Moderator
    Join Date
    28th April 2005
    Location
    Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.
    Posts
    29,208

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Daddiosk13 View Post
    And can't remember password as always logged in at work
    Well you can't have two accounts here so I'd suggest you decide which you want to retain and let me know by PM, then I'll get the two accounts merged so nothing is lost.

    Sensibly do it Tuesday if possible

    Edit: I think you can safely rule out FM12 as the cause of your problems, there'd be a few thousand complaints at least if it had that effect some very sensible suggestions here though.
    Heat is definitely top of my list, Civ5 and FM12 caused my desktop heat issues with the GPU, had to add water cooling in the end
    Last edited by Kriss; 07-04-2012 at 23:09.

  18. #18
    Semi Pro
    Join Date
    25th April 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    3,509

    Default

    a 2nd fan in the desktop computer would do wonders and you can always click on REMEMBER ME so you don't have to remember login passwords. So no excuse.

  19. #19
    Amateur
    Join Date
    6th December 2008
    Posts
    280

    Default

    Your copy of FM is legit right?

  20. #20
    Amateur
    Join Date
    7th April 2012
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kriss View Post
    Well you can't have two accounts here so I'd suggest you decide which you want to retain and let me know by PM, then I'll get the two accounts merged so nothing is lost.

    Sensibly do it Tuesday if possible

    Edit: I think you can safely rule out FM12 as the cause of your problems, there'd be a few thousand complaints at least if it had that effect some very sensible suggestions here though.
    Heat is definitely top of my list, Civ5 and FM12 caused my desktop heat issues with the GPU, had to add water cooling in the end
    Thanks kriss. Will p, you on tuesday. If heat is the primary reason, which makes sense, does that realistically rule out using a laptop to play it :-(

  21. #21
    Amateur
    Join Date
    7th April 2012
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Porthos View Post
    Your copy of FM is legit right?
    Yep. Can't abide pirating. Bought via steam.

  22. #22
    Amateur
    Join Date
    7th April 2012
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wiitastic View Post
    a 2nd fan in the desktop computer would do wonders and you can always click on REMEMBER ME so you don't have to remember login passwords. So no excuse.
    No room for second fan. Why the sharp comment? With respect, it isn' t necessary. Kriss has already explained about the rules thanks.

    Worth buying a can of compressed air?

  23. #23
    Moderator
    Join Date
    28th April 2005
    Location
    Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.
    Posts
    29,208

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Daddiosk13 View Post
    Thanks kriss. Will p, you on tuesday. If heat is the primary reason, which makes sense, does that realistically rule out using a laptop to play it :-(
    Not at all, the right laptop will do just fine, you can use a stand and even special laptop cooling fans as well to make doubly sure (they're only a few quid)

    There's a thread somewhere here about that very subject

    http://community.sigames.com/showthr...ghlight=laptop
    Last edited by Kriss; 08-04-2012 at 10:00.

  24. #24
    Semi Pro
    Join Date
    25th April 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    3,509

    Default

    ah yes cooling laptop fan stands, they work great

  25. #25
    Amateur
    Join Date
    7th April 2012
    Posts
    23

    Default

    thanks follks. have spotted a decent spec that should work okay

  26. #26
    Amateur
    Join Date
    2nd November 2010
    Posts
    390

    Default

    I had a similar problem with my PC, only it was minecraft/openttd killing it...

    Check out the power supply and how much power the CPU/GPU/Motherboard need. If it's only just enough consider upgrading the power supply. Also, as previously mentioned, installing another fan should help (the AMD stock fans are absolutely awful, if that's your CPU).

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts