+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Quick 64 bit question.

  1. #1
    Amateur
    Join Date
    9th August 2004
    Location
    Warwickshire
    Posts
    27

    Arrow Quick 64 bit question.

    I know using a 32 bit system limits the amount of memory that can be addressed. I have seen suggestions that using a 64 bit OS and it's massively increased memory addressing capacity would be of benefit.

    My question is do you really get the benefit of extra memory capacity if you are actually running a 32 bit program like FM on a 64 bit system? Wouldn't that program itself still be limited by it's 32 bit architecture?

    I have always assumed you can only really get the full benefits by running 64 bit programs on a 64 bit OS.

  2. #2
    Amateur
    Join Date
    18th November 2008
    Posts
    586

    Default

    No, you don't get any benefit in this case.

  3. #3
    Part-Timer
    Join Date
    17th April 2003
    Location
    Over there, over there and up there... kids they blow up so fast
    Posts
    1,364

    Default

    If you have more than 3.5Gb of RAM in your system, then you should be on 64bit Windows as 32bit windows won't use above it by default

    While there are many other technical reasons to use 64bit for your OS, you probably won't notice enough of a difference to be worth the cost

  4. #4
    Amateur
    Join Date
    9th August 2004
    Location
    Warwickshire
    Posts
    27

    Default

    My understanding has always been if you are using a 32 bit program on a 64 bit system then you might as well use that 32 bit program on a 32 bit system as there would be no performance gain at all as the 32 bit program would still be limited by the (strictly speaking 4GB ) memory mapping constraints.

    Hence why I was asking the question because I have seen it implied that running FM on 64 bit would enable you to use more memory and run smoother whereas I don't think it could use more memory unless the FM program itself was also 64 bit which would then allow it access to the full installed RAM on the system.

  5. #5
    Semi-Pro
    Join Date
    21st September 2006
    Location
    Cambridge
    Posts
    2,866

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by boragthung View Post
    My understanding has always been if you are using a 32 bit program on a 64 bit system then you might as well use that 32 bit program on a 32 bit system as there would be no performance gain at all as the 32 bit program would still be limited by the (strictly speaking 4GB ) memory mapping constraints.

    Hence why I was asking the question because I have seen it implied that running FM on 64 bit would enable you to use more memory and run smoother whereas I don't think it could use more memory unless the FM program itself was also 64 bit which would then allow it access to the full installed RAM on the system.
    Still best to get 64 as 32 is becoming redundant and you can take advantage, as there is no cost difference for windows 7 its really not a contest.

  6. #6
    Part-Timer
    Join Date
    17th April 2003
    Location
    Over there, over there and up there... kids they blow up so fast
    Posts
    1,364

  7. #7
    Sports Interactive Neil Brock's Avatar
    Join Date
    6th June 2005
    Location
    Gary Busey's dustbin
    Posts
    48,250

    Default

    Due to memory limitations you can certainly run more leagues on a 64-bit operating system. With a 32-bit it's unlikely you'll be able to load more than 70-100k players without difficulties.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts