Managing in the Bundesliga

I’ve never done this before. I’ve always picked one of the 3 big leagues because in a few years when I have a great squad, I want my domestic league to still be really hard to win. I don’t want the only challenge to be the Champions League. Thing is I love big stadiums, and then I started thinking…in FM, after 10-20 years, why wouldn’t the Bundesliga be the strongest league in Europe? With all those massive stadiums bringing in all that revenue. They have about 12 stadiums over 45,000 – many of them huge.

So, anyone else managed long term in this league? How does it turn out? Thanks!

I'm in 2018/19 now and it's fun. Dortmund and Bayern are the top dogs but slowly I have climbed up the table. It's fun, competitive, and something different to my usual Premier League career - in a good way. Particularly since even though I find myself in a good position financially (and not only that) I realize - and, indeed, have actually felt it in the transfer market a couple of times in the past - there are more bigger clubs out there, unlike in England which usually is the top league reputation and money wise so once you rise to the top or thereabouts you rule the world.

I really like the German leagues but I found the Bundesliga to be a bit too easy in this year's iteration (although that might just be FM12 in general). I lost 6 or 7 matches with my Koln side and still manged to win the title in my first season!

I love the lack of foreign player restrictions though. I don't even think you even need to worry about work permits.