Just Another Journeyman...

JPMarks

journeyman [jur-nee-muhn]

1. any experienced, competent but routine worker or performer.

1583o.png

MONTROSE F.C. - Season 1 - 2011/12

Not experienced, certainly not competent... routine worker? Not exactly sure. Anyway, this is my first attempt at a "career update" topic, and what better way to fail miserably than with a journeyman-style career, starting deep at the lowest playable league in Sctoland, at the helm of relegation-fighter Montrose F.C.! No initial objectives, let's just see how things play out.

009__034__club_grounds__Montrose_Links_Park_Stadium_2__1285932074_standard.jpg

Fish-eye lens, helping small stadiums seem much bigger, since 1887.

1583o.png

MONTROSE F.C. | SFL 3rd Division - 2011/12

League Table | Standings Graph | Squad Stats | Finances | Transfers

Coming in to this first season in Scotland, and it being my debut in scottish football, on one hand I really didn't know what to expect from my oponents, but on the other hand I was confident on my ability to build a strong initial lineup of 11 players. After a dismal start of the season, losing the vast majority of the friendlies, the team managed to mantain an unbeaten streak of 9 games, with only 2 draws, which really set the tone for the rest of the season. As you can see from the standings graph we never lost our lead, despite some reaction from Queen's Park, and took home the silverware, also conquering the much deserved promotion to the 2nd Division.

Regarding the cups, we were eliminated in the 1st round of the Challenge Cup against Cowdenbeath, and managed to do the same on the League Cup, but this time against Partick Thistle, Second and First Division teams. The only cup where we left our mark, was the Scottish Cup, by taking the gable-endies up to the 4th round, and losing against Clyde, a game we really should have won.

Key Players