+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 66 of 66

Thread: Can't run the game post Steam/FM Update

  1. #1
    Amateur
    Join Date
    30th August 2008
    Posts
    27

    Default Can't run the game post Steam/FM Update

    Unable to play MY Football Manageer 12, keep getting "this game is not available please try again another time". Another time, patronising @@@@@! This is my game, who are they to say when I can play it. F11 works fine.........

  2. #2
    Sports Interactive Neil Brock's Avatar
    Join Date
    6th June 2005
    Location
    Gary Busey's dustbin
    Posts
    48,250

    Default

    Is your version currently updating? A new patch was just released. I suggest making sure that's not still downloading and if it has stopped, shut Steam down and relaunch it. Let me know how you get on, thanks.

  3. #3
    Amateur
    Join Date
    8th February 2007
    Posts
    108

    Default A whole day off work and....

    I'm up fresh and ready for a busy day with FM only to be greeted with the game is currently unavailable please try later at another time! What what what what! So I've tried restarting steam, restarting my laptop and seam offline and online...what next??

    The laptop has worked fine with the game since last Friday.

  4. #4
    Amateur
    Join Date
    13th July 2008
    Posts
    85

    Default

    Same here, tried restarting steam but no luck :mad:

  5. #5
    Sports Interactive Neil Brock's Avatar
    Join Date
    6th June 2005
    Location
    Gary Busey's dustbin
    Posts
    48,250

    Default

    Is the game currently updating per chance? We've just released a small patch which could be in the process of downloading. Let me know.

  6. #6
    Sports Interactive Neil Brock's Avatar
    Join Date
    6th June 2005
    Location
    Gary Busey's dustbin
    Posts
    48,250

    Default

    If you're certain the game has finished downloading and you've tried restarting Steam I suggest reading the following - http://community.sigames.com/showthr...=1#post7184717

  7. #7
    Amateur
    Join Date
    30th August 2008
    Posts
    27

    Default

    It is not updating, at least Steam is not telling me it is updating (which it usually does). Restarted Steam, restarted PC, but still no luck.

  8. #8
    Amateur
    Join Date
    8th February 2007
    Posts
    108

    Default

    No sign of a download. Also asked steam if there was any downloads available and it said I was up to date.

  9. #9
    Amateur
    Join Date
    11th November 2008
    Location
    Luton
    Posts
    180

    Default

    I have the same problem.

  10. #10
    Sports Interactive Neil Brock's Avatar
    Join Date
    6th June 2005
    Location
    Gary Busey's dustbin
    Posts
    48,250

    Default

    Okay can you try closing down Steam and relaunching? If that doesn't work I'd suggest reading this - http://community.sigames.com/showthr...=1#post7184717

    Again let me know how you get on, thanks.

  11. #11
    Sports Interactive Neil Brock's Avatar
    Join Date
    6th June 2005
    Location
    Gary Busey's dustbin
    Posts
    48,250

    Default

    Okay as said, try reading the following - http://community.sigames.com/showthr...=1#post7184717

  12. #12
    Semi Pro
    Join Date
    9th August 2003
    Location
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Posts
    3,343

    Default

    I have the same problem.

  13. #13
    Amateur
    Join Date
    13th July 2008
    Posts
    85

    Default

    Completely exit from the Steam client.
    Go to C:\Program Files\Steam (or the Steam directory that was specified during installation).
    Locate ClientRegistry.blob and rename this file to ClientRegistryOld.blob.
    Restart Steam to allow the file to be recreated.


    This this did not work for me, currently reinstalling

  14. #14
    Amateur
    Join Date
    30th August 2008
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Thanks Neil, I have to go out so will try later. Seems everybody is in the same boat on this.....

  15. #15
    Sports Interactive Neil Dejyothin's Avatar
    Join Date
    16th October 2000
    Location
    Shearer \o.
    Posts
    9,405

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by leagle View Post
    Thanks Neil, I have to go out so will try later. Seems everybody is in the same boat on this.....
    If you leave Steam running the update will kick in.

  16. #16
    Part-Timer
    Join Date
    21st September 2011
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,548

    Default

    I had this.

    Kept trying to start game and getting the not available message.

    Messing around with client registery did nothing.

    I did this

    Verify Game Cache:

    1.Load Steam
    2.From the Library section, right-click on the game and select Properties from the menu.
    3.Select the Local files tab and click the ‘VERIFY INTEGRITY OF GAME CACHE…’ button.
    4.Steam will verify the game's files - this process may take several minutes.
    5.Once the process is completed, the Check Window will automatically exit.



    and it seemed to kick start the update to download but now getting a serious error message when i launch??

    Think i may have deleted something important when I was messing around with client registry so having to do a full re-install.

    'KIN STEAM!!
    Last edited by Mr U Rosler; 27-10-2011 at 08:44.

  17. #17
    Amateur
    Join Date
    8th February 2007
    Posts
    108

    Default

    Just tried to it again and it now says updating steam platform......This a good thing?

  18. #18
    Turkish Co-Head Researcher
    Join Date
    5th November 2003
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Please check fm.exe is still in C:\Program Files\Steam\SteamApps\Common\Football Manager 2012\

    Some anti-virus applications delete fm.exe so you have to add this path to white list.

  19. #19
    Amateur
    Join Date
    11th November 2008
    Location
    Luton
    Posts
    180

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Neil Dejyothin View Post
    If you leave Steam running the update will kick in.
    Any sort of time period on this?

  20. #20
    Semi Pro
    Join Date
    9th August 2003
    Location
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Posts
    3,343

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr U Rosler View Post
    I had this.

    Kept trying to start game and getting the not available message.

    Messing around with client registery did nothing.

    I did this

    Verify Game Cache:

    1.Load Steam
    2.From the Library section, right-click on the game and select Properties from the menu.
    3.Select the Local files tab and click the ‘VERIFY INTEGRITY OF GAME CACHE…’ button.
    4.Steam will verify the game's files - this process may take several minutes.
    5.Once the process is completed, the Check Window will automatically exit.



    and it seemed to kick start the update to download but now getting a serious error message when i launch??

    Think i may have deleted something important when I was messing around with client registry so having to do a full re-install.

    'KIN STEAM!!
    I did this and got this. The FM.exe is still in the correct folder.

  21. #21
    Sports Interactive Neil Brock's Avatar
    Join Date
    6th June 2005
    Location
    Gary Busey's dustbin
    Posts
    48,250

    Default

    Yeah, that's as it should be. Let it finish updating and then you should be okay to launch.

  22. #22
    Amateur
    Join Date
    30th March 2007
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Having the same bloody problem too.
    Will try the above post and see what happens.
    Bloomin Steam is subbish!!

  23. #23
    Semi Pro
    Join Date
    9th August 2003
    Location
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Posts
    3,343

    Default

    I have a nice crash dump file now!

  24. #24
    Amateur
    Join Date
    8th February 2007
    Posts
    108

    Default

    Grrrreat start to the day

  25. #25
    Semi Pro
    Join Date
    9th August 2003
    Location
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Posts
    3,343

    Default

    It now brings a crash dump!

  26. #26
    Sports Interactive Neil Brock's Avatar
    Join Date
    6th June 2005
    Location
    Gary Busey's dustbin
    Posts
    48,250

    Default

    If you've updated and now you're getting a crash dump or the game won't run please follow the instructions here to verify your cache - http://community.sigames.com/showthr...=1#post7184719

  27. #27
    Amateur
    Join Date
    13th July 2008
    Posts
    85

    Default

    Reinstalling worked for me

  28. #28
    Part-Timer
    Join Date
    11th October 2007
    Posts
    1,769

    Default

    Followed the steps and it did the update platform thing, but still coming up with "Currently unavailable. Try again later." Absolutely ridiculous. So now I have to uninstall and reinstall? And I'm going to have to do this everytime there's an update?

    My word.

    Edit: Managed to get the update downloading, shall see if it launches afterwards

    Verifying game cache seems to have worked, but just got a serious error. Going to close and restart steam.
    Last edited by Mikal; 27-10-2011 at 09:02.

  29. #29
    Semi Pro
    Join Date
    9th August 2003
    Location
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Posts
    3,343

    Default

    I re-verified my cache just now, it re-downloaded files and it now works fine. At least you know with FM that the support is excellent.

    Thanks Neil.

  30. #30
    Sports Interactive Neil Brock's Avatar
    Join Date
    6th June 2005
    Location
    Gary Busey's dustbin
    Posts
    48,250

    Default

    Just to clarify, when you first launched Steam today it was downloading a patch. This patch would have been roughly 40mb. This patch will have needed to download before you'd be able to run the game. I'd very much make certain that this patch has downloaded before launching the game else you're likely to get error messages. Once finished, if you can't load it should simply be a case of restarting the Steam platform after a couple of minutes.

    If you're still having issues get back to us, but please do try this first of all. Thanks.

  31. #31
    Part-Timer
    Join Date
    21st September 2011
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,548

    Default

    So the only solution thats worked so far is to re-install the whole game?

    Slick work.

  32. #32
    Semi Pro
    Join Date
    9th August 2003
    Location
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Posts
    3,343

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr U Rosler View Post
    So the only solution thats worked so far is to re-install the whole game?

    Slick work.
    No, see post 29 made by me.

  33. #33
    Sports Interactive Neil Dejyothin's Avatar
    Join Date
    16th October 2000
    Location
    Shearer \o.
    Posts
    9,405

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by David Ashworth View Post
    I re-verified my cache just now, it re-downloaded files and it now works fine. At least you know with FM that the support is excellent.

    Thanks Neil.
    Great to hear you're back up and running.

  34. #34
    Sports Interactive Neil Dejyothin's Avatar
    Join Date
    16th October 2000
    Location
    Shearer \o.
    Posts
    9,405

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr U Rosler View Post
    So the only solution thats worked so far is to re-install the whole game?

    Slick work.
    Not at all, but you shouldn't fiddle with editing files or performing actions while Steam is in the process of updating, as otherwise you're going to cause yourself problems.

  35. #35
    Amateur
    Join Date
    8th February 2007
    Posts
    108

    Default

    I tried the verify thing and it came up with 3 files failed to validate and need reacquired


    Tried to load the game and it is working. Wondering though if the above message is anything to worry about?
    Last edited by JamboJapp; 27-10-2011 at 09:08.

  36. #36
    Part-Timer
    Join Date
    11th October 2007
    Posts
    1,769

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JamboJapp View Post
    I tried the verify thing and it came up with 3 files failed to validate and need reacquired


    Tried to load the game and it is working. Wondering though if the above message is anything to worry about?
    With the reacquiring thing it should automatically start downloading them. i.e. the patches/updates.

  37. #37
    Amateur
    Join Date
    30th March 2007
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Verify Game Cache:

    1.Load Steam
    2.From the Library section, right-click on the game and select Properties from the menu.
    3.Select the Local files tab and click the ‘VERIFY INTEGRITY OF GAME CACHE…’ button.
    4.Steam will verify the game's files - this process may take several minutes.
    5.Once the process is completed, the Check Window will automatically exit.
    +

    This worked for me!!
    Cheers

  38. #38
    Amateur
    Join Date
    29th July 2011
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Got this problem too. Followed the instructions to verify game cache and now I get a error with a crash dump.

  39. #39
    Part-Timer
    Join Date
    11th October 2007
    Posts
    1,769

    Default

    Run the verify cache again and the downloads should start once more. Bare in mind, it downloading 2 updates on mine, one 60mb and one 40mb, so after the first has updated, I'd wait 10/15 mins and see if another one starts.

  40. #40
    Amateur
    Join Date
    30th September 2009
    Posts
    187

    Default

    Got the same issue,

    Went down the "varify cache" route. Ended with a "crash dump" But the game loaded threw the crash dump, so still playable but gonna annoy the hell out of me everytime i load the game up, with crash dump, untill i do a Complete re-instal /o\

  41. #41
    Sports Interactive Lucas Weatherby's Avatar
    Join Date
    8th April 2007
    Location
    "There. are. four. lights!"
    Posts
    9,121

    Default

    Has it definitely applied the latest patch? Give it a bit of time.

  42. #42
    Amateur
    Join Date
    29th July 2011
    Posts
    10

    Default

    re-installed it. seems to work.

  43. #43
    Amateur
    Join Date
    26th June 2007
    Posts
    69

    Default

    Latest patch has been applied via "verify integrity of game cache", steam would not update the game by itself. Once "verify integrity of game cache" had been completed, and steam had applied the 44.2mb update, the game will no longer start, as a serious error crash dump is created.


    UPDATE EDIT: I verified the game cache again, and a new 60mb download started, all seems fine now. If you are having probs, verify the game cache twice.
    Last edited by HenryJudas; 27-10-2011 at 09:41.

  44. #44
    Part-Timer
    Join Date
    5th November 2005
    Posts
    1,600

    Default

    I've got to the same point as hater - the update finished - after verifying cache it found 2 issues and downloaded again but now crash dumps - is complete re-install the only option?

  45. #45
    Amateur
    Join Date
    19th October 2007
    Posts
    100

    Default

    You put your game access in the hands of a third party, and now you can't control your access to the game.

    I'm sorry, but what about this is unexpected?

  46. #46
    Amateur
    Join Date
    26th June 2007
    Posts
    69

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Elohir View Post
    You put your game access in the hands of a third party, and now you can't control your access to the game.

    I'm sorry, but what about this is unexpected?
    Verify integrity of game cache twice. It's that simple.

    I use steam for all my games pretty much, and it very rarely has any problems. Something has happened here, wether it's an error from steam or SI, who's to say?

  47. #47
    Sports Interactive Neil Brock's Avatar
    Join Date
    6th June 2005
    Location
    Gary Busey's dustbin
    Posts
    48,250

    Default

    The game will become unavailable for a short time when the patch is being applied, this is to be expected.

  48. #48
    Part-Timer
    Join Date
    5th November 2005
    Posts
    1,600

    Default

    Update - after another verify, reupdate and another restart everything seems to working fine - appreciate you're about on the forums to offer suggestions Brock

  49. #49
    Amateur
    Join Date
    26th June 2007
    Posts
    69

    Default

    No Neil Brock, there is a problem somewhere with steam not applying the patch, and the patch being unable to be downloaded automatically. One verify integrity of game cache dl's a 40mb which makes the game crash, a 2nd verify dl's a 60mb update which makes the game playable.

    Something is happening, that is making steam spasm. Like I said, I use steam for pretty much all my games, no problems, this is not "to be expected" and you lot at SI have done something...

  50. #50
    Sports Interactive Neil Brock's Avatar
    Join Date
    6th June 2005
    Location
    Gary Busey's dustbin
    Posts
    48,250

    Default

    No worries, thanks for letting me know you resolved the issue.

  51. #51
    Amateur
    Join Date
    19th October 2007
    Posts
    100

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HenryJudas View Post
    Verify integrity of game cache twice. It's that simple.

    I use steam for all my games pretty much, and it very rarely has any problems. Something has happened here, wether it's an error from steam or SI, who's to say?
    The problem with having one solution is the assumption that you only ever have one problem.

    Or "If all you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail."

  52. #52
    Part-Timer
    Join Date
    21st September 2011
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,548

    Default

    "The game will become unavailable for a short time when the patch is being applied, this is to be expected."


    "Verify integrity of game cache twice. It's that simple."





    I could have done with this information a bit earlier before I read your threads advising me to mess around with registry and then delete and re-install the game if that did not work.

    How about a bit of 'heads up' next time?

  53. #53
    Sports Interactive Neil Brock's Avatar
    Join Date
    6th June 2005
    Location
    Gary Busey's dustbin
    Posts
    48,250

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HenryJudas View Post
    No Neil Brock, there is a problem somewhere with steam not applying the poatch, and the patch being unable to be downloaded automatically. One verify integrity of game cache dl's a 40mb which makes the game crash, a 2nd verify dl's a 60mb update which makes the game playable.

    Something is happening, that is making steam spasm. Like I said, I use steam for pretty much all my games, no problems, this is no "to be expected" and you lot at SI have done something...
    When the patch is downloaded normally and allowed to update it should run correctly. There's a chance it'll need a bit of time to update correctly which is why we've asked people to be patient with this. However, yes it would appear that some people have needed to verify their cache to resolve a problem, maybe related to a slightly corrupted update. Thanks for taking the time to raise it here.

  54. #54
    Amateur
    Join Date
    17th August 2008
    Posts
    464

    Default

    [sarcasm] Damn it Si, I should be able to apply a patch, play the game and enact world peace all at the same time. Steam has stopped me doing all three! [/sarcasm]

  55. #55
    Amateur
    Join Date
    26th June 2007
    Posts
    69

    Default

    Neil with all due respect, I don't know what is hard to understand about steam not applying the patch automatically?

    For some weird reason, you have to start the DL manually by verifying the game cache (twice to get it to work).

  56. #56
    Amateur
    Join Date
    15th July 2008
    Posts
    177

    Default

    Un install and Re install the game on steam. It should then work. Not ideal but the game is now up and running for me.

  57. #57
    Part-Timer
    Join Date
    21st September 2011
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,548

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HenryJudas View Post
    Neil with all due respect, I don't know what is hard to understand about steam not applying the patch automatically?

    For some weird reason, you have to start the DL manually by verifying the game cache (twice to get it to work).
    Exactly, and this method was only established by user trial and error. Zero warning from SI/Steam.

  58. #58
    Sports Interactive Neil Brock's Avatar
    Join Date
    6th June 2005
    Location
    Gary Busey's dustbin
    Posts
    48,250

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HenryJudas View Post
    Neil with all due respect, I don't know what is hard to understand about steam not applying the patch automatically?

    For some weird reason, you have to start the DL manually by verifying the game cache (twice to get it to work).
    That has not been the case for everyone, for a great number of people and during tests we've carried out it has updated automatically with no issues. We are aware some people have come across difficulties though which have been rectified by verifying their cache.

  59. #59
    Amateur
    Join Date
    17th December 2008
    Location
    Gillingham
    Posts
    318

    Default

    Calm down people. A massive part of what makes FM so brilliant is the customer support, listening to us, the gamers and implementing our ideas to future patches and versions. With the number of people purchasing the games, SI are forced to evaluate how one simple change will work out over an infinite number of setups.

    Add in to the mix that an estimated 5 people downloaded cracked versions of FM11 for every one that purchased the game and you can see the need for 3rd party anti pirating company to be used, We all know someone who can get you a cheap dvd, or downloads a few songs from youtube etc.

    The game will work, verify the cache, it re-downloads a few files and you can play the game. I'd rather have half an hour of issues running the game on the 2 or 3 times a patch is released instead of 9 months of a game where the keepers don't receive positioning training, or the game crashes in the MLS.

  60. #60
    Amateur
    Join Date
    17th August 2008
    Posts
    464

    Default

    CWR15 - Spot on!

  61. #61
    Amateur
    Join Date
    19th October 2007
    Posts
    100

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CWR15 View Post
    Add in to the mix that an estimated 5 people downloaded cracked versions of FM11 for every one that purchased the game and you can see the need for 3rd party anti pirating company to be used, We all know someone who can get you a cheap dvd, or downloads a few songs from youtube etc.
    No offence but that's not really a helpful, or sensible, premise considering that the only people who are having trouble playing the game are the ones who've paid for it.

  62. #62
    Amateur
    Join Date
    26th June 2007
    Posts
    69

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CWR15 View Post

    Add in to the mix that an estimated 5 people downloaded cracked versions of FM11 for every one that purchased the game...
    Haha really? Where did you get that info from?

  63. #63
    Sports Interactive Neil Brock's Avatar
    Join Date
    6th June 2005
    Location
    Gary Busey's dustbin
    Posts
    48,250

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HenryJudas View Post
    Haha really? Where did you get that info from?
    Miles posted it in another thread. Although I think it was four per every one sold.

  64. #64
    Amateur
    Join Date
    26th June 2007
    Posts
    69

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Neil Brock View Post
    Miles posted it in another thread. Although I think it was four per every one sold.
    That's just a ridiculous ammount of pirates! How did he come up with that number just out of interest?

  65. #65
    Sports Interactive Neil Brock's Avatar
    Join Date
    6th June 2005
    Location
    Gary Busey's dustbin
    Posts
    48,250

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HenryJudas View Post
    That's just a ridiculous ammount of pirates! How did he come up with that number just out of interest?
    Through official channels although I'm not privy as to how the information was collated.

  66. #66
    Amateur
    Join Date
    19th October 2007
    Posts
    100

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HenryJudas View Post
    That's just a ridiculous ammount of pirates! How did he come up with that number just out of interest?
    ninjas + spaceships / superman = pirates



    To be fair that's actually a huge improvement on the old championship manager, considering they shipped a cracked exe in an unprotected cab file on the production disc. XD
    Last edited by Elohir; 27-10-2011 at 10:42.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts