+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 33 of 33

Thread: 11.3 match engine seems slow and jerky

  1. #1
    Amateur
    Join Date
    4th December 2005
    Location
    Sunderland
    Posts
    240

    Thumbs down 11.3 match engine seems slow and jerky

    last patch was fine, very fast and smooth. no problem at all

    The new patch is slow and jerky on the highest 2d settings :-(

  2. #2
    Part-Timer
    Join Date
    16th August 2005
    Location
    In the Blue Yonder
    Posts
    1,077

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Safc 4 eva View Post
    last patch was fine, very fast and smooth. no problem at all

    The new patch is slow and jerky on the highest 2d settings :-(
    I have it on the highest 3D settings no issues! Occasionally get a bit of a wobble but nothing untoward. Players running on the spot. Sometimes but very rarely it can be slowish but I have many leagues and a big DB running so each saves takes up ever more mb!!
    Last edited by Kazza; 09-03-2011 at 14:35.

  3. #3
    Sports Interactive Neil Brock's Avatar
    Join Date
    6th June 2005
    Location
    Gary Busey's dustbin
    Posts
    50,272

    Default

    Make sure you've got the latest drivers for you graphics card and be mindful of how many programs you have running in the background if you don't have a top-end computer. Do you know what type of graphics card you have?

  4. #4
    Amateur
    Join Date
    2nd November 2008
    Location
    Peterborough
    Posts
    179

    Default

    same here, medium settings, windowed mode 1920x1080 and all options on just using my i5 25oo onboard gpu and its running perfectly

  5. #5
    Youth Team
    Join Date
    7th October 2007
    Location
    I tell the truth even when i lie
    Posts
    4,602

    Default

    only commentry is your freind lol

  6. #6
    Amateur
    Join Date
    30th September 2010
    Posts
    103

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Neil Brock View Post
    Make sure you've got the latest drivers for you graphics card and be mindful of how many programs you have running in the background if you don't have a top-end computer. Do you know what type of graphics card you have?
    Not trying to be a dick, but srs, I played every single FM very smoothly (I'm actually playing FM10 right now and it's all fine). Being the FM11 system requirements the exact same as FM10, why can't I (and many people) play the game smoothly? It's obviously not a hardware problem, since with the same exact PC I can play FM10 fine and FM11 not.

  7. #7
    Amateur
    Join Date
    5th November 2009
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    582

    Default

    Mine is the exact opposite. My 2D match engine (prefer it tbh) is very smooth and very quick.

    Loving it!

  8. #8
    Amateur
    Join Date
    15th November 2008
    Posts
    174

    Default

    I've has this problem with every FM11 patch and the latest still hasn't fixed it! Very very frustrating. I'm trying to update my driver as we speak, but it still doesn't explain why every other FM worked fine, including the FM11 demo and FM11 without the patches!

  9. #9
    Amateur
    Join Date
    7th March 2011
    Posts
    69

    Default

    11.2 ran fine for me, 11.3 is unresponsive and crashes. I brought the game based on the specs of 11.0 and I expect 11.3 to run on the same specs. Basically I have brought a game which has only ran on my PC for 3 months, this is not right and bordering on illegal, because I am on steam it seems impossible to roll back to 11.2. Quite honestly if this isnt recitfied ASAP SI have lost a loyal customer.

  10. #10
    Amateur
    Join Date
    22nd August 2005
    Location
    In a hobbit house in the side of a small hill
    Posts
    813

    Default

    It does seem slower for me as well.

    My PC is only a year old and its pretty sharp.

    Its not a problem as such, but I have noticed a difference since STEAM installed 11.3, yesterday.
    Last edited by Lord Rowell; 09-03-2011 at 21:43.

  11. #11
    Semi Pro
    Join Date
    4th September 2008
    Location
    Gamertag: LCpl Doul (XBL)
    Posts
    2,337

    Default

    Try CCleaner followed by Puran Defrag for good results gents, had the two running on auto for years now - works a treat, but a manual run after installs helps heaps!

  12. #12
    Amateur
    Join Date
    15th November 2008
    Posts
    174

    Default

    I'm going to give it a go, fingers crossed! Although I don't really think it's going to work, I'm pretty sure theres something engrained in the patches that my system just doesn't like!

  13. #13
    Amateur
    Join Date
    29th December 2010
    Posts
    112

    Default

    Just to add to this point;
    Prior to 11.3 - Classic 2D ME ran fine.
    After 11.3 - Classic 2D ME is stuttering, isn't fluid like before.

    I play on a 5 star rated machine, and oddly the 3D ME is absolutely fine and doesn't stutter at all. Just the Classic 2D I'm struggling with.

  14. #14
    Amateur
    Join Date
    28th September 2010
    Location
    Gorleston-On-Sea
    Posts
    101

    Default

    Mine also has this problem ive dowloaded a updated driver for my graphics card and i hardly have anything running in the background.

    11.2.1 the match engine ran absolute perfectly and smoothly 11.3 its jerky and freezing on me i dont understand

  15. #15
    Amateur
    Join Date
    29th January 2009
    Location
    Wolves
    Posts
    511

    Default

    My 3D ME was always fine till 11.3, now it sometimes becomes very slow and jerky as soon as I make any subs...strange I know, restarting the game(FM) is the only thing that gets rid of it once it starts, untill I make subs again :P.

    Comp is fine, gaming setup, 8GB ram, good G card etc so its not that. (Geforce GTS450)

  16. #16
    Amateur
    Join Date
    28th September 2010
    Location
    Gorleston-On-Sea
    Posts
    101

    Default

    Mine now since closing MSN and also upgrading my graphics card drivers will start jerky but then it will run smoothly its not perfect but it will do

  17. #17
    Part-Timer
    Join Date
    16th August 2005
    Location
    In the Blue Yonder
    Posts
    1,077

    Default

    Yes I noticed that at the beginning of a game it is jerky then smooths out. No freezing except i get that situation where the players run at a standstill for about 10 secs then the game continues.

  18. #18
    Semi Pro
    Join Date
    4th September 2008
    Location
    Gamertag: LCpl Doul (XBL)
    Posts
    2,337

    Default

    This happens easily after any new install.

    Any gamer worth his (or her) salt knows you need a little clean after a couple of hundred MB's of patch have been dumped in there. Not to mention all the temp file crap that builds up whilst installing.

    Got no issues here btw.

  19. #19
    Amateur
    Join Date
    7th March 2011
    Posts
    69

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Indi75 View Post
    This happens easily after any new install.

    Any gamer worth his (or her) salt knows you need a little clean after a couple of hundred MB's of patch have been dumped in there. Not to mention all the temp file crap that builds up whilst installing.

    Got no issues here btw.
    Thanks for that, but a clean install and disk defrag and ensuring I have upto date drivers the game is no better. Although obviously I did all that before posting honest guv

  20. #20
    Banned
    Join Date
    4th December 2010
    Location
    Is not 30.Beast you morons
    Posts
    6,710

    Default

    the new ME runs smoother than my ass cheek. It's almost perfect.

  21. #21
    Amateur
    Join Date
    22nd August 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    702

    Default

    Having the same problem with 3d, before this patch game use to run perfectly

  22. #22
    Amateur
    Join Date
    19th October 2006
    Location
    adelaide
    Posts
    373

    Default

    i have an i7 950 ati hd 5870 6gb ram win7 and no programs running in background etc. i have noticed a number of times where the game freezes while playing a match and the players run on the spot for between 5-15 seconds. one time i had to jump out to windows and jump back in before it started again. strange as the game runs fine apart from these pauses..

  23. #23
    Amateur
    Join Date
    16th February 2011
    Location
    Kevin Toms' attic.
    Posts
    105

    Default

    Same problem for me.

  24. #24
    Youth Team
    Join Date
    16th February 2009
    Location
    Reading - Season ticket holder since before we were any good
    Posts
    5,802

    Default

    11.3 is better than 11.2 for me

  25. #25
    Banned
    Join Date
    4th December 2010
    Location
    Is not 30.Beast you morons
    Posts
    6,710

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by matthiele View Post
    i have an i7 950 ati hd 5870 6gb ram win7 and no programs running in background etc. i have noticed a number of times where the game freezes while playing a match and the players run on the spot for between 5-15 seconds. one time i had to jump out to windows and jump back in before it started again. strange as the game runs fine apart from these pauses..
    that happened in 11.2 occasionally too.

  26. #26
    Amateur
    Join Date
    5th August 2008
    Location
    Egypt
    Posts
    683

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by Robert the Spud View Post
    the new ME runs smoother than my ass cheek. It's almost perfect.
    me too ........

  27. #27
    Semi Pro
    Join Date
    14th September 2005
    Location
    Søborg, Denmark
    Posts
    2,211

    Default

    The ME ran smoothly in 11.2 and runs just as smoothly in 11.3!

  28. #28
    Amateur
    Join Date
    28th October 2000
    Location
    where I lay my hat is home
    Posts
    442

    Default

    Force the game to run windowed, it's the only way I can ditch the jerky 3D graphics.

  29. #29
    Amateur
    Join Date
    29th December 2010
    Location
    The Shed
    Posts
    145

    Default

    how do you get it to run windowed? is it in preferences because i cant see it! or do you go to properties on fm.exe? thanks for any help

  30. #30
    Third Team
    Join Date
    1st September 2006
    Posts
    6,218

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cfcx View Post
    how do you get it to run windowed? is it in preferences because i cant see it! or do you go to properties on fm.exe? thanks for any help
    It might be greyed out. If it is then create a desktop shortcut if you dont already have one. Right click on it and select properties. Look for the shortcut tab and in the target box type -windowed -small_screen so it looks like this

    "C:\Program Files (x86)\Sports Interactive\Football Manager 2011\fm.exe" -windowed -small_screen

    Click apply then reboot your computer. When you restart fm it should be in windowed mode.

  31. #31
    Amateur
    Join Date
    29th December 2010
    Location
    The Shed
    Posts
    145

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by trekman View Post
    It might be greyed out. If it is then create a desktop shortcut if you dont already have one. Right click on it and select properties. Look for the shortcut tab and in the target box type -windowed -small_screen so it looks like this

    "C:\Program Files (x86)\Sports Interactive\Football Manager 2011\fm.exe" -windowed -small_screen

    Click apply then reboot your computer. When you restart fm it should be in windowed mode.
    thanks very much i will give that a try

  32. #32
    Amateur
    Join Date
    29th December 2010
    Location
    The Shed
    Posts
    145

    Default

    when i click apply it says its not valid, help???

  33. #33
    Amateur
    Join Date
    23rd March 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I have the same problem , windowed mode works but it's not a real solution.. does anyone knows a fix so that we can play in fullscreen without those jerky and stuttering matches ?

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts