FM Instruction Manual

Put yourself in the place of a complete newbie to FM. You might not even be familiar with football - in the same way that I can watch the Super Bowl and enjoy it, but I haven't a clue about the finer details of American Football tactics, etc. You watch Match of the Day occasionally and enjoy football, but you just about know what 4-4-2 means. That's the limit of your knowledge.

You buy FM, because you think it'll be fun to learn more about the details of football, and you want to buy the best players and manage your favourite team, and have a fun game. Or your mates have it, and you want to see what the fuss is about.

You install it. Great.....now what. You have no idea this forum exists. You have no instruction booklet. You do have the pop-up help comments at the side, but you don't even know where your team squad screen is, or even what DR stands for next to a player.

I imagine this happens a lot. I often feel sorry for people without knowledge of this forum, especially considering we often have arguments about "What does likes-to-run-into-channels mean?" and people will post 10 different answers. We are the informed knowledgeable experienced people and even we don't know the answer.

I often think a detailed comprehensive instruction booklet would help, or even a FM Wikipedia page. It would also be a good place for the informed people to actually post proper answers to questions, such as:

• What do the different personality types mean - if his media handling style is confrontional, what does that mean for me as manager and the team in general?
  • If I set my player to tackle the opposition harder, what does that actually do? Will he get sent off, or always look to do slide tackles, or just be more aggressive? What's the downsides?