+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 32 of 32

Thread: How many leagues do YOU run??

  1. #1
    Amateur
    Join Date
    16th March 2001
    Location
    NSW Australia
    Posts
    169

    Question How many leagues do YOU run??

    Hey guys/gals, just curious what peoples set up are. Currently im playing with top div's only in Australia, Belgium, France, Holland, Portugal, and Wales, Top TWO leagues in Germany, Italy, Scotland, and Spain, and all Leagues from England. With my database on larger and all players national rep from every continent. The game trys to tell me gamespeed is 1 star which i find hard to believe as i have a E8500 3.16ghz dual core proc and 8Gb Ram. So has lead me to see what others are running.

    Thanks Guys/gals

  2. #2
    FC Oss Researcher
    Join Date
    11th November 2008
    Location
    Terrassa, Spain - FC Barcelona Member #174408
    Posts
    3,547

    Default

    well i dont know alot about pc's, here is what someone on here told me was important about my specs for this game

    Pentium I8, 3.4ghz, 6GB Ram, 2GB dedicated graphics 3TB HDD. In my original journeyman save i had about 60 leagues running and was quicker than my laptop ran 15!

  3. #3
    Part-Timer
    Join Date
    8th May 2008
    Posts
    1,254

    Default

    I've got France, Spain, Germany, Italy, Scotland (all Top Division only), and England (League 2) as playable. Argentina and Brazil are view only leagues both Top Division only. Medium Database. This is how I always start.

    I wanted to add Holland, Portugal, Turkey and Greece as playable too with Bulgaria, Poland and Belgium as view only, but I didn't think my computer can handle it. I only got one star and I'm not sure if youngsters develop well in view only leagues. After reading this thread, I know I should probably ignore the star rating, but I'm hoping someone on here is willing to clarify if youngster can develop well in view only leagues.

    AMD 64 X2 2.4 GHz and 4 GB DDR2 Ram. Desperately in need of an upgrade, but I can't afford luxuries.

  4. #4
    Part-Timer
    Join Date
    7th June 2001
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    853

    Default

    I usually just aim at around 50K players in the game.

  5. #5
    Amateur
    Join Date
    29th December 2009
    Location
    West London
    Posts
    166

    Default

    I've got 72 Leagues running with the Australia(Expanded), Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Colombia, Czech Rep, England, France, Holland, Germany, Italy, Mexico, Norway, Poland, Romania, Russia, Scotland, Serbia, Slovakia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, USA, Ukraine, Uruguay & Wales(Expanded). I figured I better have a big world as I like to vary the teams I manage.
    Its still surprisingly quick too!

  6. #6
    Part-Timer
    Join Date
    23rd October 2009
    Posts
    1,600

    Default

    If I'm playing in Europe; England, Spain, Italy, Germany & France + Brazil, plus four others (maybe Argentina, Russia, Holland & Portugal), then add some players from whatever region I'm in.

    Ten in total, my PC could handle more but I don't really think it's worth it.

  7. #7
    Amateur
    Join Date
    25th October 2007
    Location
    Norwich, UK
    Posts
    203

    Default

    I usually run no more than 10 leagues - 2 English, 2 German, 2 French, 2 Italian, 1 Dutch, 1 Portuguese.

    Got an i5 overclocked to 3.5 GHz, 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Ram, Radeon HD 5970, 100GB SSD, 1TB HDD.

    I know I could run more, but I tend to transfer my saves to my laptop (Core2Duo 2.4 GHz, 4 GB RAM, GeForce 9500) and play on the go

  8. #8
    Amateur
    Join Date
    10th November 2010
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    352

    Default

    i think i have 18 leagues running on a half a star game speed and it doesn't seem slow at all

  9. #9
    Amateur
    Join Date
    11th October 2007
    Posts
    414

    Default

    I probably have too much running, but I'm used to te game being quite slow in processing everything. I'm in no hurry, just want a good journeyman career. My netbook seems to handle everything pretty well, all be it a bit slow.
    I have England running down to 8th tier, Holland, Germany and Scotland to 4th level, Belgium, France, Spain, Italy, Denmark, Sweden, Norway to 3rd and Portugal, Austria, Switserland and Finland to 2nd level. That's a lot of leagues (especially the english and dutch regional leagues make my save 'heavy').

  10. #10

    Default

    I have England down to the BS Premier, Scotland (All), Ireland, NI and Wales (All), Spain (Top 2), Brazil, Argentina, Mexico (all except lowest Brazilian) and Australia... On a large database there is a nice selection of available talent from around the globe.

  11. #11
    Youth Team
    Join Date
    4th April 2009
    Posts
    4,387

    Default

    On my old pc (Athlon X2 4400+, 2gb ram) I usually ran England (League One), Italy (Serie B), Norway (full) and Spain (Primera) on large-custom DB... Not a great selection of leagues but to be honest I didn't care much about journeyman saves in the past so all I needed were the countries I'm most familiar with.

    Occasionally I tried to mix it up a bit, adding other nations, but anyway no more than a total of 10-15 active divisions.


    My new pc (X4 640, 4gb ram) allows me to run more leagues, so I now have the same as above plus top/2nd division of Argentina, Brasil, France, Germany, Netherlands, Denmark, Sweden, Scotland and Japan.

    I could probably push it further but unless the 11.3 patch REALLY fixes the reputation/job issue, I see no valid reason for loading 50 divisions while I can't land a job in 46 of them without having won 10 Champions Leagues or without tampering with FMRTE.

  12. #12
    Reserves
    Join Date
    18th September 2007
    Location
    FMCU 2013 Best Poster
    Posts
    11,623

    Default

    Pretty much all of Europe when I can handle it, however now I have the opportunity to try that setup out with my upgraded laptop it's slightly slower than expected though still pretty much fine. As I couldn't when starting my year-long save I go for as many European top divisions as possible, which is often a lot of them. Generally my ideal setup at the moment would be taking out a few of the smallest nations but run all leagues for the other European ones.

  13. #13
    Part-timer
    Join Date
    29th May 2003
    Location
    ]Expecting new pc around 2009 and looking forward to FM 2010
    Posts
    1,703

    Default

    My current FM10 save:
    Holland (3), Belgium (4), Luxembourg (2), Germany (5), France (5), Spain (4), Portugal (3), Andorra (2), Switzerland (3), Austria (3), Italy (5), San Marino, Slovenia (2), Croatia (3), Serbia (3), Bosnia (2), Montenegro (2), Macedonia (2), Albania (2), Greece (3), Turkey (3), Syria, Lebanon, Israel (2), Jordan, Egypt (2), Libya, Tunisia (2), Malta (2), Algeria (2), Morocco (2), Mauritania & Mali.
    Amount of tiers in brackets.

    The gathering of info took some time so I'm skipping FM11 and will be back for FM12.

  14. #14
    Amateur
    Join Date
    25th October 2006
    Posts
    248

    Default

    I run with 200.000+ players/staff.. pretty much everything. I'm starting to regret it though, as it's painfully slow. I'm hoping my new desktop will help.

  15. #15
    Third Team
    Join Date
    14th November 2008
    Location
    Sarajevo
    Posts
    8,121

    Default

    I have English Premier Division loaded, large DB, loaded all players of Bosnian, English, Brazilian, Dutch and Portugese nationality (sp?). Star system is flawed, as it says for me only half star and the game is flying.

  16. #16
    Semi Pro
    Join Date
    15th November 2008
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    2,533

    Default

    I have top division from England, France, Italy, Germany, Uruguay, Spain and Portugal; top two divisions from Argentina and Brazil; view only leagues of Peru and Colombia; large DB. No need to load more, even if my PC can handle more.

  17. #17
    Part-Timer
    Join Date
    11th September 2004
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,851

    Default

    On the career game, 53 leagues from 29 countries.

    (Egypt*, Ivory Coast*, Nigeria*, South Africa)
    (Australia, Japan*, South Korea, China*)
    (Norway, Denmark, Sweden)
    (Spain, Holland, Germany, England, Portugal, Greece, Russia, Italy, France, Turkey, Ukraine, Scotland, Belgium)
    (USA, Mexico, Canada*)
    (Brazil, Argentina)
    * Editor-made competitions
    Last edited by Scab; 17-01-2011 at 13:34.

  18. #18
    Amateur
    Join Date
    6th November 2010
    Location
    British Empire
    Posts
    788

    Default

    England 4 leagues, Italy 1 , Spain 1 , france 1 , germany 1 and if my laptops feeling it the MLS too.

  19. #19
    Amateur
    Join Date
    19th November 2010
    Posts
    134

    Default

    Wow. I cant believe how many leagues some of you run. What is the benefit ofrunning so many leagues?. If its only to be able to manage clubs in that league then I would never have some of the leagues some of you have checked int my save (horses for courses though). I always manage Spurs and like to get to legendary status with them. I even had the new grund named after me on my last FM 2010 save, even while I still managed them. I run one league (EPL) and thats it!. On my new save I might run. England, Spain & Italy, just the top divisions.

  20. #20
    Amateur
    Join Date
    21st November 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default

    My Computer seems to handle 14 leagues reasonably well when I do a challenging start unemployed game. The countries I have set, all playable and all divisions are:

    England
    Scotland
    Wales
    N. Ireland
    Rep. of Ireland
    Italy
    Germany
    Spain
    France
    Portugal
    Russia
    Netherlands
    Argentina
    Brazil

  21. #21
    Reserves
    Join Date
    29th December 2006
    Location
    2011 Best FMCU Poster!
    Posts
    12,639

    Default

    133 leagues in total in my career game.

    Although a quarter of them are view only and I only have 125k players in it, which is the max FM says I should load.

  22. #22
    Part-Timer
    Join Date
    11th September 2004
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,851

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tha Truth View Post
    Wow. I cant believe how many leagues some of you run. What is the benefit ofrunning so many leagues?. If its only to be able to manage clubs in that league then I would never have some of the leagues some of you have checked int my save (horses for courses though).
    There's that, but also for good newgens from as many countries as possible, competitive continental competitions, and competitive international competitions. It makes long-term games a whole lot more interesting.

  23. #23
    Amateur
    Join Date
    19th November 2010
    Posts
    134

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Scab View Post
    There's that, but also for good newgens from as many countries as possible, competitive continental competitions, and competitive international competitions. It makes long-term games a whole lot more interesting.
    I have a pentium core 2 duo (2.2 ghz) and 3 gig ram. What do you think my PC could handle easily. I dont really want obscure leagues like Nigeria & Ivory Coast etc. Also, what is the benefit of view only leagues?, what is the difference?.

  24. #24
    Part-Timer
    Join Date
    11th September 2004
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,851

    Default

    Great post on view only and detail level. I load the African leagues mostly for newgens; I doubt I'll spend much time managing in those. As for your computer, I can't really say. I run the ones I listed on a Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.4GHz x 4) with 4GB RAM at to me acceptable speed.

  25. #25
    Amateur
    Join Date
    23rd May 2006
    Location
    scotland
    Posts
    112

    Default

    im runnin with 61 playable leagues (around 130000 players). ive never understood why people set some leagues as 'view only'. if you actually go into the view only leagues you have selected you will notice that from each club all players, bar 2 or 3 will be greyed out and unbuyable. pointless imo.

    as for my game speed, if i dont have a midweek game, processing take around 5 mins from sat to sat which aint to bad imo. i just go on holiday until the next match and alt tab out to surf the web for a few mins.

  26. #26
    Amateur
    Join Date
    25th October 2007
    Location
    Norwich, UK
    Posts
    203

    Default

    Why use alt + tab if you can run it as windowed?

    I do, and because I've got a reasonably big screen (24 inch) I tend to watch videos or surf in the background (FM takes up a half of the screen, and Chrome or Media Player the second one).

  27. #27

    Default

    England (Premier League, Championship, League One, League Two)
    France (Ligue One)
    Germany (1. Bundesliga)
    Spain (La Liga)
    Italy (Serie A)

  28. #28
    Reserves
    Join Date
    21st November 2007
    Location
    Winter is coming
    Posts
    10,222

    Default

    England (championship)
    France
    Italy
    Spain
    Portugal
    Germany
    Scotland
    Netherlands
    (all top leagues)

  29. #29
    Amateur
    Join Date
    23rd May 2006
    Location
    scotland
    Posts
    112

    Default

    good point, never thought bout runnin in windowed mode.

  30. #30
    Amateur
    Join Date
    16th July 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    88

    Default

    England, Wales, Scotland, N. Ireland, Rep. Ireland, Spain, France, Italy and Germany with all available leagues and a large DB.

  31. #31
    Banned
    Join Date
    3rd July 2007
    Location
    VALE-on-Trent
    Posts
    5,546

    Default

    On my last game on Fm10 I had every league running and it ran alright for about 3 seasons. As expected though it totally cooked my ram and became unplayable.

  32. #32
    Banned
    Join Date
    4th December 2010
    Location
    Is not 30.Beast you morons
    Posts
    6,710

    Default

    I've got i think 45 approx. leagues, large database with about 70,000 players. Not every league is playable, but most are.

    This is with a 2ghz quad core processor and 3gb ram. In season 4 and although there is a slightly noticeable slowdown when proccessing fixtures(but not always), it seems to run pretty damn well.

    I will be upgrading my ram soon though.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts