Still learning about the game

I am still learning about the real life game of football. There are some things in the game that also happen in real-life that I don't understand. I have a couple questions.

First, I know that sometimes the game says that a player is "ticked off" by the official. I also just went to my half-time stats and see that a player is "in danger of being booked". I know that a yellow card is received for a foul, two yellows and the player gets a red and sent off. But I'm confused a bout the "ticked off" part. I know that when I watch a real-life game, the official writes something down on his card and they say he's been ticked off. How does that "ticked off" all work?

Second, I know this is not a big deal, but with my understanding it looks silly to me and I cannot make sense of it. When a ball goes out over the touch line, sometimes the player who knocks it out raises his hand as if to say "I'm the one who knocked it out, the ball goes to the opponents". But just as often it seems that a player raises his hand to indicate "It's our ball, the other team knocked it out". So I'm wondering if there's some nuance I'm not picking up on. If the hand is raised to admit sending the ball out and also to indicate that we should receive possession, then raising the hand seems to do no good. If the signal means two different things, how can you tell which time it means one and which the other? Can someone please explain this to me.

Sorry about such stupid questions, we don't get much football (soccer) exposure here in the US.

Being ticked off is like when a referee takes note, usually mentally, of a player who's made a foul or a few fouls, and it basically means that if they were to committ another foul they are likely to get a yellow card for consistently fouling.