+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Question about Premier League place and Europa League qualification

  1. #1
    Amateur
    Join Date
    2nd November 2008
    Posts
    53

    Default Question about Premier League place and Europa League qualification

    I finished 6th with Fulham in my first season...and therefore should qualify for the Europa League and come in at the 4th Qualifying Round....but I didn't?

    Reading won the League Cup and Tottenham who finished 8th won the FA Cup...is this the reason?

    ...bit gutted if this is a bug! But can't really find the rules so don't know if those two, without finishing in the top 7th, made my position disqualified from a place in the Europa League?

  2. #2
    Sports Interactive Neil Brock's Avatar
    Join Date
    6th June 2005
    Location
    Gary Busey's dustbin
    Posts
    49,760

    Default

    Yeah there are only UEFA Cup spots for the team that finishes 5th, and the two cup winners. If a cup winner finishes in the top four, more spots become available to high league finishers. You were unlucky!

  3. #3
    Amateur
    Join Date
    2nd November 2008
    Posts
    53

    Default

    Ok. Then please delete/close my thread !

  4. #4
    Part-Timer
    Join Date
    17th April 2003
    Location
    Over there, over there and up there... kids they blow up so fast
    Posts
    1,364

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Neil Brock View Post
    Yeah there are only UEFA Cup spots for the team that finishes 5th, and the two cup winners. If a cup winner finishes in the top four, more spots become available to high league finishers. You were unlucky!
    May I correct you
    Technically, it would be, if a cup winner has already gained a UEFA place by other means domestically, then that UEFA spot goes to the highest league finisher not yet to have qualified for Europe
    For example, if a team won both cups but finished 10th, 6th place would still qualify for the Europa League
    Last edited by DeadZone; 12-11-2010 at 17:57.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts