Penalty shootouts = Automatic loss

I've been playing this series on and off since about FM2007 and I would say I've been involved in about 250 penalty shootouts. Out of those I would say I have won less than 50. It's not even a coin toss anymore it's basically like trying to win the lottery.

Is there some secret to winning these?

I win most penalty shootouts with my st mirren side, I'm just lucky to have a good 6 or so players with around 15 penalty taking stat, and I've got a great goalie too, I also when it's looking like penalties try to keep on my high penalty-taking players even when they're incredibly tired and sub on people with high penalty taking where possible, even if it means breaking my formation for a few minutes, it's risky, as you could easily concede a late goal, but sometimes it's for the best.

I've actually had a penalty shootout that went to like the 8th player and I was lucky my defender with like 9 penalty taking scored :p was so thinking I was doomed

One thing to do is to stop the game at full time, then reassess your penalty takers based on current fitness, current morale and game rating. Dont always put your takers in descending order of ability and dont be afraid to put your captain, if he has high attributes for composure and determination and not neccessarily a top attribute for penalties, in the list

I have comfortably won all my penalty shootouts so far. In fact, I actually look forward to them. However, one of my best strikers (Marquinhos) suffered a Roberto Baggio-like heartbreaker by missing the last penalty in a World Cup final shootout. The amazing thing was his morale afterwards was still 'Superb'.

Neither have I, 1 shootout 1 win.

I beat Ghana in the semis of the WC with Turkey in 2014 and looking back at the result here's the takers with the four stats I consider neccessary (Pens, Determination, COmposure and Concentration)

Tur:

1 Nuri (14/12/17/13)

2 Tuncay (11/18/14/15)

3 Necip Uysal (13/12/15/14)