+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: My son's FM hardly works

  1. #1
    Lurker
    Join Date
    2nd April 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default My son's FM hardly works

    Hi guys- when my son tries to load up FM10 it often says disc cannot be found- when the disc is in the desktop- I've tried restarting the computer several times and tried other discs which work- so is it likely I have a faulty disc?! It works sometimes but surely this shouldn't happen and it makes a 8 year old v upset!- Cheers for any advice

  2. #2
    Amateur
    Join Date
    21st February 2006
    Location
    Buxton (SHEEP :D)
    Posts
    387

    Default Re: My son's FM hardly works

    From what you have said it sounds like the disc is damaged. Have a look at the disc see if it has got any scratches on it and if it has you could pick up a disc cleaning kit form almost any computer shop for quite a cheap price.

  3. #3
    Amateur
    Join Date
    13th November 2007
    Location
    ireland
    Posts
    389

    Default Re: My son's FM hardly works

    it will teach your son almost the important thing he will ever learn look after fm at all costs try and polish it and install via steam it will save having the disc should it get worse

  4. #4
    Part-Timer
    Join Date
    1st November 2009
    Location
    AEK, 9 leagues, 11 Cups, 4 Ch Leagues, 3 European Super Cups, 2 Club Wold Championships
    Posts
    1,623

    Default Re: My son's FM hardly works

    1. i am pretty sure there is a thread about this and it doesn't have to do with scratches (original/ authentic CDs must be REALLY damaged to stop playing)
    2. don't trust disk cleaning kits. Most of the times they destroy the CD more. Most of them work by deleting/ destroying the outer layer od the disk and the scratches with it. imagine by accident to destroy all the layers...

  5. #5
    Part-Timer
    Join Date
    1st November 2009
    Location
    AEK, 9 leagues, 11 Cups, 4 Ch Leagues, 3 European Super Cups, 2 Club Wold Championships
    Posts
    1,623

    Default Re: My son's FM hardly works

    sorry but i have to comment on this now! 8 years old and playing fm? this is a wonderkid! regardless of his abilities!

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    16th October 2009
    Posts
    640

    Default Re: My son's FM hardly works

    You could use Steam, but I don't know if it has a minimum age or any features that you wouldn't want an eight year old using. There is another way to get it to work without the disk, but unfortunately it's illegal and can't be discussed here.

  7. #7
    Amateur
    Join Date
    27th October 2002
    Location
    Portadown, N Ireland
    Posts
    521

    Default Re: My son's FM hardly works

    This is definitely a problem with some discs and as far as I can see SI haven't acknowledged it as a common problem. Check my comments here as I've had similar issues. http://community.sigames.com/showthr...87#post5031387

    Since posting this I have tried Steam again which is now working for me.

    If you ask me there is a fault with some discs out on the market. Very annoying.

  8. #8
    Moderator and Technical Support
    Join Date
    27th December 2003
    Location
    Half the lies I tell aren't true
    Posts
    33,135

    Default Re: My son's FM hardly works

    Quote Originally Posted by seh82 View Post
    Hi guys- when my son tries to load up FM10 it often says disc cannot be found- when the disc is in the desktop- I've tried restarting the computer several times and tried other discs which work- so is it likely I have a faulty disc?! It works sometimes but surely this shouldn't happen and it makes a 8 year old v upset!- Cheers for any advice
    Have you installed any of the patches? This error message can appear when the wrong patch has been installed- check and report back. If you have installed the wrong patch, you will need to uninstall and reinstall and patch again.

  9. #9
    Amateur
    Join Date
    20th October 2007
    Location
    The Lowlands
    Posts
    123

    Default Re: My son's FM hardly works

    Seeing as he's totally new to the forums and is asking for his 8-year old kid, he probably doesn't even know the patches exist.

    My advice, go to the next link: http://community.sigames.com/showthread.php?t=192934

    Here you have to choose FM2010 Retail Boxed (Patch) - PC , or if you're on Mac, choose the Mac-version.

    When installing this after downloading, there is a big chance the error will not occur anymore, seeing as it was a bug on the original version.

    If you can't get the installation to work after downloading it, try typing .exe behind the filename and it should work properly then!

    Good luck, and what the guy above said, 8 year old, he's a wonderkid!

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts