+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 34 of 34

Thread: vista and FM

  1. #1
    Reserves
    Join Date
    7th September 2008
    Location
    In Big Save Dave We Trust !
    Posts
    11,192

    Default vista and FM

    Why does vista use up nearly double the storage space as xp?

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    16th October 2009
    Posts
    254

    Default Re: vista and FM

    Quote Originally Posted by craigcwwe View Post
    Why does vista use up nearly double the storage space as xp?
    Its Vista, Need anyone say anything more.

  3. #3
    Reserves
    Join Date
    7th September 2008
    Location
    In Big Save Dave We Trust !
    Posts
    11,192

    Default Re: vista and FM

    Anyone know why?

  4. #4
    Amateur
    Join Date
    17th July 2007
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Posts
    355

    Default Re: vista and FM

    Quote Originally Posted by craigcwwe View Post
    Anyone know why?
    Because its an awful operating system, get windows 7 when its out...

  5. #5
    Moderator and Technical Support
    Join Date
    27th December 2003
    Location
    Half the lies I tell aren't true
    Posts
    34,139

    Default Re: vista and FM

    THe 2 operating systems are very different and Vista uses up condiderably more of the capabilities of the computer due to the facilities it offers- many would say that it wasnt worth the efort though.

  6. #6
    Reserves
    Join Date
    7th September 2008
    Location
    In Big Save Dave We Trust !
    Posts
    11,192

    Default Re: vista and FM

    so windows 7 is going to be better than vista when it comes out?

  7. #7
    Reserves
    Join Date
    7th September 2008
    Location
    In Big Save Dave We Trust !
    Posts
    11,192

    Default Re: vista and FM

    does windows vista run slow or something?

    will windows 7 be better than vista?

  8. #8
    Youth Team
    Join Date
    29th August 2007
    Location
    www.nufcblog.co.uk
    Posts
    5,873

    Default Re: vista and FM

    Vista uses more of your computer specs to run itself, leaving less for other programs. Windows 7 is supposed to be lighter on you system, leaving you more resources to run other programs.

  9. #9
    Reserves
    Join Date
    7th September 2008
    Location
    In Big Save Dave We Trust !
    Posts
    11,192

    Default Re: vista and FM

    so therefore windows 7 is better....

  10. #10
    Youth Team
    Join Date
    29th August 2007
    Location
    www.nufcblog.co.uk
    Posts
    5,873

    Default Re: vista and FM

    Quote Originally Posted by craigcwwe View Post
    so therefore windows 7 is better....
    I'd say so

  11. #11
    Part-Timer
    Join Date
    21st April 2003
    Location
    Leeds - Scouring the papers looking for Leeds Utd signings!
    Posts
    1,287

    Default Re: vista and FM

    I think its fair the say that while Microsoft still think Vista could have been worked on and improved they decided that it was better to start again and make a new OS. They admitted during their Beta testing phase of Windows 7 that they understand alot of the negativity surrounding Vista.
    Beta testers feedback on Windows 7 is very positive, almost frighteningly so! I'm not a Beta Tester for it but if you do a google search you can find users feedback on it.

    So in short , it sounds like its 100 times better!

  12. #12
    Youth Team
    Join Date
    29th August 2007
    Location
    www.nufcblog.co.uk
    Posts
    5,873

    Default Re: vista and FM

    Quote Originally Posted by NeilUK View Post
    I think its fair the say that while Microsoft still think Vista could have been worked on and improved they decided that it was better to start again and make a new OS. They admitted during their Beta testing phase of Windows 7 that they understand alot of the negativity surrounding Vista.
    Beta testers feedback on Windows 7 is very positive, almost frighteningly so! I'm not a Beta Tester for it but if you do a google search you can find users feedback on it.

    So in short , it sounds like its 100 times better!
    There are quite a few people on here that have been using/testing it for a while now and they all say that FM09 flies on it. Imagine what FM10 will be like???!!!

  13. #13
    Sports Interactive Rb's Avatar
    Join Date
    13th April 2002
    Posts
    13,582

    Default Re: vista and FM

    Having tried the FM10 demo on Snow Lepoard, Windows Vista & Windows 7, I must say it seems to be most responsive on 7

  14. #14
    Reserves
    Join Date
    7th September 2008
    Location
    In Big Save Dave We Trust !
    Posts
    11,192

    Default Re: vista and FM

    O.K thanks a lot guys, you have been very helpful.

  15. #15
    Semi Pro
    Join Date
    3rd June 2008
    Location
    Singapore, Marsiling Rise
    Posts
    2,279

    Default Re: vista and FM

    Windows 7 is much better than Windows Vista! You should upgrade to the new OS when it comes out! It handles FM brilliantly!

  16. #16
    Amateur
    Join Date
    20th August 2007
    Location
    Bogsville
    Posts
    484

    Default Re: vista and FM

    Quote Originally Posted by Blanchflower1 View Post
    Windows 7 is much better than Windows Vista! You should upgrade to the new OS when it comes out! It handles FM brilliantly!
    Agreed. Mirrors my experiences too.

  17. #17
    Banned
    Join Date
    16th October 2009
    Posts
    254

    Default Re: vista and FM

    Ah I noticed MS are giving their Testers a free copy of Windows 7.

    Can anyone confirm if SI will be giving their Beta Testers a free copy of FM10

    Surley if those devils at MS can do it then the angels at SI can too

  18. #18
    Amateur
    Join Date
    20th August 2007
    Location
    Bogsville
    Posts
    484

    Default Re: vista and FM

    I'm pretty sure the FM10 beta testers will get a free copy of the game.

  19. #19
    Reserves
    Join Date
    7th September 2008
    Location
    In Big Save Dave We Trust !
    Posts
    11,192

    Default Re: vista and FM

    Quote Originally Posted by Blanchflower1 View Post
    Windows 7 is much better than Windows Vista! You should upgrade to the new OS when it comes out! It handles FM brilliantly!
    what are your computer specs?

  20. #20
    Reserves
    Join Date
    7th September 2008
    Location
    In Big Save Dave We Trust !
    Posts
    11,192

    Default Re: vista and FM

    Quote Originally Posted by samuelburrowsuk View Post
    Agreed. Mirrors my experiences too.
    what are your computer specs?

  21. #21
    Youth Team
    Join Date
    29th August 2007
    Location
    www.nufcblog.co.uk
    Posts
    5,873

    Default Re: vista and FM

    Quote Originally Posted by samuelburrowsuk View Post
    I'm pretty sure the FM10 beta testers will get a free copy of the game.
    Why? FM09 testers didnt, well i didnt anyway

  22. #22
    Amateur
    Join Date
    20th August 2007
    Location
    Bogsville
    Posts
    484

    Default Re: vista and FM

    Quote Originally Posted by craigcwwe View Post
    what are your computer specs?
    Toshiba Laptop
    AMD 64X2 Processor @2ghz
    3GB Ram
    100gb HDD
    Running Windows 7 64 bit

  23. #23
    Youth Team
    Join Date
    29th August 2007
    Location
    www.nufcblog.co.uk
    Posts
    5,873

    Default Re: vista and FM

    Quote Originally Posted by samuelburrowsuk View Post
    Toshiba Laptop
    AMD 64X2 Processor @2ghz
    3GB Ram
    100gb HDD
    Running Windows 7 64 bit
    Sounds like the same as mine, only i have 2gb RAM and Vista still. Hoping to get 7 later in the month. Will give it a clean install aswell to clean the rubbish off my laptop.

  24. #24
    Amateur
    Join Date
    4th June 2008
    Location
    Sheffield, England
    Posts
    409

    Default Re: vista and FM

    I have a Intel I7 920 DDR3 6GB coming next week hopefully and as far as i am aware Windows 7 doesn't come out until next month.

    My plan is to go with Vista 64 until then and I was thinking due to it being a decent system it would run vista and the games (FM/Counter-strike source/WoW/L4D) with easy , I do understand that Vista uses a lot of system power but as I said I thought it wouldn't be a problem.

    You guys think I should go with XP 64 until Windows 7 comes out or do you think the system will be fine with Vista 64 ?

  25. #25
    Youth Team
    Join Date
    29th August 2007
    Location
    www.nufcblog.co.uk
    Posts
    5,873

    Default Re: vista and FM

    Quote Originally Posted by blueowl View Post
    I have a Intel I7 920 DDR3 6GB coming next week hopefully and as far as i am aware Windows 7 doesn't come out until next month.

    My plan is to go with Vista 64 until then and I was thinking due to it being a decent system it would run vista and the games (FM/Counter-strike source/WoW/L4D) with easy , I do understand that Vista uses a lot of system power but as I said I thought it wouldn't be a problem.

    You guys think I should go with XP 64 until Windows 7 comes out or do you think the system will be fine with Vista 64 ?
    I think Windows 7 is due out on Thursday (22nd).

  26. #26
    Reserves
    Join Date
    7th September 2008
    Location
    In Big Save Dave We Trust !
    Posts
    11,192

    Default Re: vista and FM

    Quote Originally Posted by baker.simon View Post
    I think Windows 7 is due out on Thursday (22nd).
    yeah its the 22nd october.

  27. #27
    Semi Pro
    Join Date
    12th April 2003
    Posts
    2,716

    Default Re: vista and FM

    I am thinking of upgrading to windows 7.. Just wanted to make sure that the os would have all the drivers that my laptop now has, i dont have a copy of all my drivers and not sure where i can download them from.

    I bought mine from laptop direct, you guys think if i called them, they will send me a disk with all the drivers on it?

  28. #28
    Amateur
    Join Date
    20th August 2007
    Location
    Bogsville
    Posts
    484

    Default Re: vista and FM

    Quote Originally Posted by Abs_UK View Post
    I am thinking of upgrading to windows 7.. Just wanted to make sure that the os would have all the drivers that my laptop now has, i dont have a copy of all my drivers and not sure where i can download them from.

    I bought mine from laptop direct, you guys think if i called them, they will send me a disk with all the drivers on it?
    You shouldn't need to do that.

    If you look in your device manager (right click on My Computer (xp) or Computer (Vista) and select properties, then device manager) you can see what hardware you have.

    Just google the manufacturer's website to get the drivers you need and save them on a USB stick in advance. The key one is to have your wireless card drivers - after that Win7 is very good at grabbing them straight off the web automatically.

  29. #29
    Amateur
    Join Date
    20th August 2007
    Location
    Bogsville
    Posts
    484

    Default Re: vista and FM

    Quote Originally Posted by baker.simon View Post
    Sounds like the same as mine, only i have 2gb RAM and Vista still. Hoping to get 7 later in the month. Will give it a clean install aswell to clean the rubbish off my laptop.
    Yeah its probably the same machine. Toshiba Satellite A300 I think, work were selling them brand new for a subsidised £100 so seemed silly not to get involved. I put an extra 1gb of ram in myself, intending to make it 4gb when I can find another £20!

  30. #30
    Youth Team
    Join Date
    29th August 2007
    Location
    www.nufcblog.co.uk
    Posts
    5,873

    Default Re: vista and FM

    Quote Originally Posted by samuelburrowsuk View Post
    Yeah its probably the same machine. Toshiba Satellite A300 I think, work were selling them brand new for a subsidised £100 so seemed silly not to get involved. I put an extra 1gb of ram in myself, intending to make it 4gb when I can find another £20!
    Is that easy to do in a laptop? Its something ive been looking to do but stopped as 1) i didnt want to mess it up and 2) i have very clumsy hands

  31. #31
    Amateur
    Join Date
    20th August 2007
    Location
    Bogsville
    Posts
    484

    Default Re: vista and FM

    Quote Originally Posted by baker.simon View Post
    Is that easy to do in a laptop? Its something ive been looking to do but stopped as 1) i didnt want to mess it up and 2) i have very clumsy hands
    It is really really really easy. One screw to undo to get access to the memory. Two little clips to depress to pop out one of the old RAM chips and then its just a case of slotting the new one where you took the old one out.

    At the moment you probably have 2 x 1gb ram chips. Your options are either a 1+2 (cheapest) 2+2 (around £40 for both) or a 4 + blank, with the blank offering you the chance to put in even more memory in the future. You will need a 64 bit operating system like Vista 64 or Windows 7 64 to recognise more than 4gb of RAM though. (I'd recommend you use a 64 bit OS anyway tho to be honest).

    In terms of the physical fitting, I taught myself using a photo guide on the Crucial UK website. That was about 5 years ago, with youtube now I'm sure you could watch a 60 second video once and pick it up easily enough.

  32. #32
    Youth Team
    Join Date
    29th August 2007
    Location
    www.nufcblog.co.uk
    Posts
    5,873

    Default Re: vista and FM

    Quote Originally Posted by samuelburrowsuk View Post
    It is really really really easy. One screw to undo to get access to the memory. Two little clips to depress to pop out one of the old RAM chips and then its just a case of slotting the new one where you took the old one out.

    At the moment you probably have 2 x 1gb ram chips. Your options are either a 1+2 (cheapest) 2+2 (around £40 for both) or a 4 + blank, with the blank offering you the chance to put in even more memory in the future. You will need a 64 bit operating system like Vista 64 or Windows 7 64 to recognise more than 4gb of RAM though. (I'd recommend you use a 64 bit OS anyway tho to be honest).

    In terms of the physical fitting, I taught myself using a photo guide on the Crucial UK website. That was about 5 years ago, with youtube now I'm sure you could watch a 60 second video once and pick it up easily enough.
    Cheers for that . Just looked and my laptop is exactly the same (A300). Ive upgraded RAM before but that was on a besktop years ago (I think it was to upgrade from 8mb to 16mb at the time ). Sorry to hassle you anymore, but a couple of extra questions? How can i tell what particular RAM i need, i have had a quick look and it seems there are now lots of different types of RAM. Next question, what are the positives of havin a 64 bit OS? Would my laptops 2ghz processor handle it? Or will it make running programs less intensive?

    Cheers

  33. #33
    Amateur
    Join Date
    13th June 2007
    Posts
    830

    Default Re: vista and FM

    I have to say i never had that much of a problem with Vista, indeed apart from the first week of release and Nvidia being slow as... well a realy slow thing to release drivers its been a fairly painless process since then.

    Even the transition to 64 bit which i dreaded was as easy as pie.

    But ive been hearing good things about Windows 7 and im definately going to jump over to it... hell ill probably end up ordering 7 right after i close this.

  34. #34
    Amateur
    Join Date
    20th August 2007
    Location
    Bogsville
    Posts
    484

    Default Re: vista and FM

    Quote Originally Posted by baker.simon View Post
    Cheers for that . Just looked and my laptop is exactly the same (A300). Ive upgraded RAM before but that was on a besktop years ago (I think it was to upgrade from 8mb to 16mb at the time ). Sorry to hassle you anymore, but a couple of extra questions? How can i tell what particular RAM i need, i have had a quick look and it seems there are now lots of different types of RAM. Next question, what are the positives of havin a 64 bit OS? Would my laptops 2ghz processor handle it? Or will it make running programs less intensive?

    Cheers
    No probs :-)

    I bought my RAM off ebay (cash is a little bit tight) for £17 but if you want good price, service, fast postage and a solid guarantee then you can't do much better than Crucial.

    The specific RAM you need is PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz 200 PIN SODIMM - if you do a search on ebay for that then you will find plenty of options. If you need any help locating that on Crucial then give me a shout, but, they should list your laptop in their manufacturer's list (which has preloaded details of the memory configurations).

    I would recommend you take the path I did and aim for 2 separate lots of 2gb (the laptop has two adjacent slots which is shipped with 2x 1gb chips). If you don't want to commit the cash all at once you can do what I did and just buy a single 2gb chip for now (which will take you up to 3gb) and then buy another 2gb chip (to take you up to 4gb) when you can / want to.

    Now onto the 64 bit issue. Its not really a case of your processor 'handling it' - your processor will definitely benefit from it! Because we have dual-core processors, it means they are able to split the work more efficiently and effectively. A 32 bit OS isn't able to take advantage of this but a 64 bit OS is, which offers better performance for multi-core processors. Windows 7 64 bit is released tomorrow - I highly recommend.

    On the off chance you are a student with a valid .ac.uk email address, this is currently available for £30, otherwise its £65.

    Hope that helps - if you need any more specific advice then send me an e-mail (address in my profile).

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts