PDA

View Full Version : Running old CH games



Mango22
25-01-2009, 18:55
I have Championship Manager 3 and would love to run it on my laptop (running Xp). Does anyone know how I can get it running? I'm not that computer literate but I can follow instructions!!

If there is a thread with a similar question please direct me to it.

Many thanks,

Thomas.

Stevicus
25-01-2009, 18:57
I have Championship Manager 3 and would love to run it on my laptop (running Xp). Does anyone know how I can get it running? I'm not that computer literate but I can follow instructions!!

If there is a thread with a similar question please direct me to it.

Many thanks,

Thomas.


erm im not sure what youu mean and im sorry to be smart but you should put the disc in first!!! please specify your problem

wez007
25-01-2009, 18:58
Yes you can but you may have to run it windows 95 compatible mood, not 100% sure

wez007
25-01-2009, 19:00
Doh re-read the question.... you want to know how not if.
Insert disk, autoplay should come up, if it doesnt go to my computer, find the cd drive and look for the setup file. Double click to install and follow on screen instructions. Once the game has installed you should find a shortcut for the game on your desktop, double click that and your away.

Mango22
25-01-2009, 19:01
The game won't run as CM3 is considered 'old' by Xp. Tried compatible changes but no joy. (So yes, i've put the disc in).

wez007
25-01-2009, 19:05
Strange as i can run cm 01/02 on my xp system so CM3 should work.

So did you right hand click on the fm shortcut > properties > compatability > windows 95??

wez007
25-01-2009, 19:06
If i remember right you have to install the latest patch for cm3, give it a go

Mango22
25-01-2009, 19:08
I'll try reinstalling now, thanks for tip about the patch.

wez007
25-01-2009, 19:11
It will work, you need the patch, check out this link mate
http://www.eidos.co.uk/support/faqinfoprint.html?fqid=189

Good luck with the old classic!

Ozzy38
25-01-2009, 19:17
I use the Microsoft Application Compatibility Toolkit for CM 99/00, try that.

Mango22
25-01-2009, 19:23
Ok, well it's running (still need to get patch though) but now I don't have enough memory.

Indi75
25-01-2009, 19:29
Odd.

I'm running the free download of CM01/02 on Vista and Windows 7 without issue... beyond nassssty resolution.

wez007
25-01-2009, 19:31
From the above link

Q19. The game freezes / crashes with XP or 2k with around 512 MB of RAM "Out of Memory Errors"- if greater than 512 follow:
http://community.sigames.com/1/OpenTopic?a=tpc&s=21019056&f=66919117&m=3321921233
A19. Try lowering the size of your page file to around 400MB (if it isn't already that or lower) - this stops the total memory available being over 1GB and stops the error. It will (hopefully) stop the "Out of Memory
errors" as well. The new location for the Win Qfixapp: http://www.aliashunter.com/act20.exe Note: this is an alternative solution to applying the QfixApp for those with less than 1 GB but more than
512MB - as long as you make your virtual memory low enough so that the sum of the RAM and the virtual memory does not exceed 1GB.
To get to the page file settings: Right click on my computer > Click Properties > Advanced Tab > Performance settings > advanced tab > Change button

Mango22
25-01-2009, 19:36
My virtual memory is 2533MB - what should I change it to?

wez007
25-01-2009, 20:08
Try lowering the size of your page file to around 400MB

DietSpam
25-01-2009, 20:12
I could get sm3 to run on xp no problem. I couldn't get it to run on Vista, though.

Mango22
25-01-2009, 20:26
How do i lower my page file?

I've found where I can change my virtual memory - is it the same thing?

Mango22
25-01-2009, 20:38
I changed initial and max to 400 and I have SUCCESS!!!!

Thankyou for your help...... that is till it crashes and i'm back!!

wez007
26-01-2009, 12:20
Good news Mango, enjoy