PDA

View Full Version : Online troubles



jm_itfc
25-01-2009, 00:45
All afternoon today me and my mate have been trying to play online, no success. I installed my game with Steam and he used the other thingy. First time didn't work because it just said that it couldnt find the servers given. We then both installed Hamachi which I used for online play on FM about a year or two ago. Then the databases were different (I have one called default, he had one called 9.0.0, we assumed they were the same). I already had 9.0.2 but he didn't so he downloaded it, then it just didnt download right so had to download it again, managed to install and update it but now his FM doesn't work at all so he's having uninstall/install it again.
Is there an easier way that we've missed at all?

jod123
25-01-2009, 00:56
You both need to have the same patch. So the best thing is you both get the 9.2.0 patch. You said he downloaded it and then his FM did not work. Are you sure he downloaded and installed the right patch correctly?

jm_itfc
25-01-2009, 01:05
You both need to have the same patch. So the best thing is you both get the 9.2.0 patch. You said he downloaded it and then his FM did not work. Are you sure he downloaded and installed the right patch correctly?
We don't think he did, he's now downloading it from somewhere else and that's taking 2 hours so he's left it overnight and hopefully it'll work this time but probably not which is why I posted this:p

ftg87
25-01-2009, 01:07
In what way did his FM not work after installing the patch? Did he get an error message at all?

jm_itfc
25-01-2009, 01:11
In what way did his FM not work after installing the patch? Did he get an error message at all?
It opened up, and before the sponsors etc. came up it would come up with the "FM 09 has come up with an error and needs to close" and stuff along those lines, where you get asked to send an error report. He did the obvious stuff in opening again and restarting computer but no success, so reinstalled and all was fine

jod123
25-01-2009, 01:14
We don't think he did, he's now downloading it from somewhere else and that's taking 2 hours so he's left it overnight and hopefully it'll work this time but probably not which is why I posted this:p

You certain he is downloading the right patch for his version of the game as there is a different one for WWSM and FM and PC and Mac?

jm_itfc
25-01-2009, 01:17
You certain he is downloading the right patch for his version of the game as there is a different one for WWSM and FM and PC and Mac?
Click (http://community.sigames.com/showthread.php?t=82282)
First one he tried is the first RapidShare one, The one he's downloading now he didn't give me a link to but he said he's getting from the actual SI site...

jod123
25-01-2009, 01:19
Click (http://community.sigames.com/showthread.php?t=82282)
First one he tried is the first RapidShare one, The one he's downloading now he didn't give me a link to but he said he's getting from the actual SI site...

And has he FM or WWSM and is he on PC or Mac?

ftg87
25-01-2009, 01:20
Does he not have a torrent client? I downloaded it that way, only took about half hour

jm_itfc
25-01-2009, 01:23
Does he not have a torrent client? I downloaded it that way, only took about half hour
Nope, didn't think of it, doesnt really matter now I guess unless it doesn't work...

lawsie
25-01-2009, 05:31
GL then, it should work with same versions and same system.

RDXCougar8173
25-01-2009, 12:32
any other problems with getting a game going online then post in the fmonline help thread