PDA

View Full Version : Will I get into UEFA Cup?



AcidBurn
21-12-2008, 20:21
I am managing Getafe and have got to the Spainish cup final where I will play Real Madrid, assuming Real Madrid get into the champions league will I go into the UEFA cup win or lose?

I think I will I just want to check.

dafuge
21-12-2008, 20:24
Depends which season you are in.

AcidBurn
21-12-2008, 20:26
1st season, why does that matter or am I being silly?

dafuge
21-12-2008, 20:29
The rules change in the second season as it is being rebranded as the UEFA Europa League, for that losing cup finalists do not qualify.

AcidBurn
21-12-2008, 20:32
Cool, thanks for the information.

Younger Crayola
21-12-2008, 20:52
It doesn't actually depend on which season. Qualification rules are in effect now, so you won't qualify as runner up.

dafuge
21-12-2008, 21:08
It doesn't actually depend on which season. Qualification rules are in effect now, so you won't qualify as runner up.

Good point, my mistake.

AcidBurn
22-12-2008, 07:33
Doesnt matter anyway as Real Madrid are somehow sitting in 5th with only a few games left. Guess I got to beat them in the final now then lol.

msadler04
22-12-2008, 09:47
Check the rules on the competition info screen.....it tells you if a domestic cup has European qualification. In any case if a team wins a cup but have qualified through the league already the extra place goes to the next league position, NOT cup runners up

AcidBurn
22-12-2008, 09:53
Thanks for the replies guys I managed to nick 6th place, I lost in the cup final but my league position that I never expected to get is what got me into the UEFA cup.

tfkdougal
22-12-2008, 10:53
Well done :)