PDA

View Full Version : FM Problem on Laptop



cammy_rangers
26-01-2008, 03:04
Hey there

I have bought FM08 for my laptop and I want to make it on Windowed Mode, not on full screen. When I go to tick the box, and click confirm a message pops up as below:

http://i268.photobucket.com/albums/jj7/Cammy-2k8/fm.jpg

What do I need to do to fix this problem?

cammy_rangers
26-01-2008, 03:04
Hey there

I have bought FM08 for my laptop and I want to make it on Windowed Mode, not on full screen. When I go to tick the box, and click confirm a message pops up as below:

http://i268.photobucket.com/albums/jj7/Cammy-2k8/fm.jpg

What do I need to do to fix this problem?

ruzzy
27-01-2008, 06:40
Same Thing Happens To Me

cammy_rangers
27-01-2008, 12:32
Has anyone found a solution to this problem? Coz its really doing my head in http://community.sigames.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

DirtyJoe
27-01-2008, 12:40
You can over ride that, by changing your directory in the shortcut - do a search on the forums under "window Mode"

On the other hand it could also depend on what size screen your display is? if it is a smaller laptop.

jack_man
27-01-2008, 13:13
i have the same problem

seanyhawkins
27-01-2008, 13:42
look on over threads,i personally had this problem visit this thread and then your be ok

http://community.sigames.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/5211026...762030573#8762030573 (http://community.sigames.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/521102691/m/8762030573?r=8762030573#8762030573)

BillboardBeauty
28-01-2008, 09:13
I tried the solution proposed in that link, but it didn't work for me, it just said the target was invalid once I'd added the extra bit.
I have a hunch that this may because I'm running Vista, but thats just a guess really.
Anyone else with Vista had the same trouble or found a solution?

Jamo-spurs
28-01-2008, 09:38
Same with me , I have tried the propeties thing but still nothing http://community.sigames.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

DJdeMarco
28-01-2008, 09:45
Can you type here exactly what you typed into the target box and I will correct it for you so it will work.

The issue you are having has nothing to to with Vista but I suspect that the information on that other thread could potentially be interpreted incorrectly.

danielgear
28-01-2008, 09:53
on my laptop (vista) the target box is greyed out you cannot edit it

Jamo-spurs
28-01-2008, 10:01
"C:\Program Files\Sports Interactive\Football Manager 2008\fm.exe" --from_media_center=true -mce-small_screen-windowed

that's what i've written

danielgear
28-01-2008, 10:15
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">--from_media_center=true -mce </div></BLOCKQUOTE>


think you have to remove that

markcator3006
28-01-2008, 10:20
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">"C:\Program Files\Sports Interactive\Football Manager 2008\fm.exe" </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
"C:\Program Files\Sports Interactive\Football Manager 2008\fm.exe" -small_screen -windowed.

Should look like that

DJdeMarco
28-01-2008, 10:31
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by markcator3006:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">"C:\Program Files\Sports Interactive\Football Manager 2008\fm.exe" </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
"C:\Program Files\Sports Interactive\Football Manager 2008\fm.exe" -small_screen -windowed.

Should look like that </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

http://community.sigames.com/customicons/icon14.gif

Although you don't need the . at the end. http://community.sigames.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

I have always put two -'s in the switches so it would read:-

"C:\Program Files\Sports Interactive\Football Manager 2008\fm.exe" --small_screen --windowed

Either should work.

DJdeMarco
28-01-2008, 10:33
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by danielgear:
on my laptop (vista) the target box is greyed out you cannot edit it </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

That sounds like a permissions problem.

Are you the only person using the PC?

Have you tried to do alter this using an administrative account?

Jamo-spurs
28-01-2008, 10:38
"C:\Program Files\Sports Interactive\Football Manager 2008\fm.exe" - small_screen-windowed

isn't working either http://community.sigames.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

cammy_rangers
28-01-2008, 10:38
I don't get it.

stellar
28-01-2008, 10:48
if your desktop resolution is 1280 800 then you can just move your task bar to either side of your screen and run the game in windowed mode without the small screen command.

DJdeMarco
28-01-2008, 10:49
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by cammy_rangers:
I don't get it. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

You need to right-click the shortcut icon for FM08 and select properties from the pop-up menu.

A box will appear on which there is a textbox with the title Tartget:

In that box overwrite everything with the following text:-

"C:\Program Files\Sports Interactive\Football Manager 2008\fm.exe" --small_screen --windowed


This assumes that FM was installed to the C:\Program Files\Sports Interactive\Football Manager 2008 directory. If it was installed anywhere else, you need to change the text to match.

Make sure FM isn't running when you do this (although it won't stop you from doing it, you have to start the game again for the change to happen).

cammy_rangers
28-01-2008, 11:14
http://i268.photobucket.com/albums/jj7/Cammy-2k8/lost.jpg

And where do I type this?

DJdeMarco
28-01-2008, 11:21
I see the problem now. The main program exe file is in a system folder and Vista is "protecting" you.

Try creating a shortcut to that file on your desktop and try with that instead.

cammy_rangers
28-01-2008, 11:29
I LOVE YOU! :P

DJdeMarco
28-01-2008, 11:37
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by cammy_rangers:
I LOVE YOU! :P </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Awww shucks ....

http://community.sigames.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Glad you got it sorted.

danielgear
28-01-2008, 11:48
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by DJdeMarco:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by danielgear:
on my laptop (vista) the target box is greyed out you cannot edit it </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

That sounds like a permissions problem.

Are you the only person using the PC?

Have you tried to do alter this using an administrative account? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

yeah i am

danielgear
28-01-2008, 11:57
sorted it i had the shortcut cut from the windows vista game section instead of from program files