Question with regards to how the GFX/3d works

i've been wondering about this for a while, browsed quite a few threads on 3d too but haven't seen an explanation or suggestion as to why: 3d which looks as the graphical detail level / quality of Fifa 96 or something requires such high level of computation in graphics card and all that? only two reasons i can think of are, a very inefficient coding system, which is somewhat forgiveable since no one plays FM for it's 'hot gfx' or is it due to the level of calculations during a match requiring a high level of computing? the latter doesn't quite make sense to me really but i'd quite like someone more tech'd up than i (for i am not a techie by any means, comptarded even) to enlighten me on this.

PS i am not moaning, i quite like the 3d; or well see potential in it growing to be very good once the numerous bugs are ironed out and all that. the only frustrating thing with it is when players are idiots but that of course is the match engine as my earlier thread on that concluded

why: 3d which looks as the graphical detail level / quality of Fifa 96 or something requires such high level of computation in graphics card and all that? only two reasons i can think of are, a very inefficient coding system, which is somewhat forgiveable since no one plays FM for it's 'hot gfx' or is it due to the level of calculations during a match requiring a high level of computing? the latter doesn't quite make sense to me really but i'd quite like someone more tech'd up than i (for i am not a techie by any means, comptarded even) to enlighten me on this.

Well, I write 3D graphics engines for PC/console games for a living, so I'd consider myself more "tech'd" up than most. However, without being able to see/profile the code itself, I'd be limited to making guesses. And I wouldn't want to do that out of respect to the boys (and girls?) at SI, as obviously most (if not all) guesses would be unfounded, unprovable and untrue.