New Staff Role - Sport Psychologist

The premise is pretty simple, while im studying I at Uni im becoming more and more aware of the value of psychologists in the sporting world, although not a hugely recognised profession at the moment, it is growing, and maybe its something that future games will look to implement...

It would work on a similar way to the team talk, I mean the psychologist you hire would have ratings in the same way and the rest of the staff do...maybe not the coaching/working with youngsters/goalkeeping attributes but something similar you get the idea...it would take only 1 to be hired at a club, and when players were going through a loss of form (ie: XXXX hasn't scored in over 320 hours) then you could right click on him --> Send to Psychologist...or something along those lines.

It wouldnt be a major change to the game, anything drastically new, just maybe a nice new addition that could be used.

Yeah fair enough, I was reading about how someone said that Physios with a rating of below 5 or something could be that they mis-treat someone, you know, so along the same lines, however the Psychologist ratings would be worked out, below a certain level then they are pretty ineffective sometimes.

Is there any actual major team that uses this practice?

And is there any documented cases of players using said practice developing beter mental "stats"? ie. do they mature quicker and have better judgement?

As far as any of us know its merely a very niche market that has no real value in the real world... or it could be the best thing since the Pint.

I think this is an excellent idea and one that I am pretty sure I haven't seen suggested before.

A lot of sports use psychologists and top level Fotball clubs I am sure will use them more than most.

I just did a quich search for "fotball psychologists" online and was not surprised that there were many responses.

Indeed even the English FA seem to have got in on the act.