EPL youth academies need to be tweaked down/ remodelling of Regens from EPL Academies

note: was deliberating if this was the right forum for the post couldn't decide wheather to post it here or under League/club Data Issues.

WARNING: If you are not at all interested in youth development or the future of English football avoid reading further.

Since I work in the football industry and I spent 5months last year in England visting clubs and academies of teams such as Manchester United, Aston Villa and West Ham. The consensus seems to be the same that the "Wayne Rooney" of English nationals will be the last real fruitful generation of England nationals.

Some consideration has to be given to the fact that this was during the time when "Worldclass" England manager Steve McClaren was in charge of the national team and managed to lose out to a Croatia side that had absolutley nothing to play for at Wembley.

Since the FA decided to implement their own version of the French Academy system (mid 90's) they have continously forced clubs to only recruit players from a limited geographical perimeter (basically around their area code).

This has killed the earlier "free market" situaiton that before exsisted on youth players. Such as Man United being able to recruit from outside London as was the case with Beckham.

The FA had valiant intentions with this: Attempting/forcing the clubs to cocentrate and coperate more with grass root development in their own area inorder to ensure that they will have a good base for recruitment

However the consequences have been detremental.

In the EPL and thus in the English Premier youth academies their is an unatural concentration of clubs stemming from London and Lancashire.

This means the Geographical recruitment area for these clubs is proportionally much smaller than for Aston Villa.