FAO PaulC: Striker's low rating for average performance

I have been having problems with Jermaine Defoe's form, with some horribly low ratings apparently making my top scorer my worst performer. Initially I put it down to tactical issues, until I started studying his form page.

You will notice that with three exceptions (Roselare, Leyton Orient and Red Star 1st Leg) all goal scoring games result in 7.1 or higher, while all non-scoring games result in a maximum rating of 5.9. From further observation, in the games he scored the rating was low 6s or high 5s before the goal.

DefoeForm.jpg

Whilst monitoring him I looked at where the rating changed, either up or down. This is what I discovered:

- Missed headers have a large detrimental effect on the rating.

- Key headers do not result in an increase - or at least not visible.

- A high percentage of shots on target does not improve the rating - even when the goalkeeper's rating rises.

- A good run that results in a shot or corner does not result in any noticeable gain.

- The only way to counteract the constant negative trend is to score, contribute more than two key passes (Red Star), or of course win more headers (Roeselare).

Please note, these are observations during the match, but they pretty much match analysis of the raw stats on the form page.

Given Defoe's height he is not going to win many headers, but the rating interprets this as lack of ability. This keeps bringing down the rating with only a major contribution to the game able to bring it up. While height may not be used to calculate the header, it should be used to calculate the rating as he is being artificially handicapped.

These are not great performances, but they are at least average in every respect other than heading. The ratings for the scoring matches are fine, but his ratings for non-scoring performances should be higher.