PDA

View Full Version : Mac Patch Problem - I cannot start a new game



Llywelyn27
20-11-2008, 00:18
Hi, ive posted on the main mac patch thread but no-one has been able to solve my problem so I thought I would start a new thread.

Basically I have 10.5.5. and and intel mac over spec. 2.16GHz 2Gb Ram etc.

However, when I go to start a new game on v.9.1.0 it does about 20% then crashes saying that it cannot load 4-4-2 DM and 4-5-1 DM before displaying a standard Mac error box saying the application unexpectedly quit.

I have tried uninstalling everything including preference files and the si folder in the documents section and then reinstalling, didn't work. I have also tried verifying/repairing disk permissions but that didn't work. Anyone able to help?

Llywelyn27
20-11-2008, 00:25
I sometimes also get a different message after it says it cannot load 4-4-2 DM and 4-5-1 DM. It says "The application Football Manager 2009 v 9 . 1 . 0 f 26708 quit unexpectedly"

Any help?

KUBI
20-11-2008, 00:37
Remove all FM2009 files, restart your computer, install it again, patch it again. Hope it works.

Llywelyn27
20-11-2008, 10:32
It didnt work, I am still unable to play this game. Is anyone from SI going to answer me? I have e-mailed, wrote on numerous threads, I have had this game since Friday 14th Nov and yet I still am yet to play. What a joke!

ambolt
20-11-2008, 10:34
Hi, ive posted on the main mac patch thread but no-one has been able to solve my problem so I thought I would start a new thread.

Basically I have 10.5.5. and and intel mac over spec. 2.16GHz 2Gb Ram etc.

However, when I go to start a new game on v.9.1.0 it does about 20% then crashes saying that it cannot load 4-4-2 DM and 4-5-1 DM before displaying a standard Mac error box saying the application unexpectedly quit.

I have tried uninstalling everything including preference files and the si folder in the documents section and then reinstalling, didn't work. I have also tried verifying/repairing disk permissions but that didn't work. Anyone able to help?

What's your graphics card? Does it work when you turn off 3D in the preferences?

ambolt
20-11-2008, 10:38
Oh, is this when you launch a game, not when you play a match? you could try deleting those two tactics files, maybe they are corrupted (though I doubt it).

KUBI
20-11-2008, 10:46
Are you sure that the patch is in the right directory? I had to select the directory manually on my mac.

craiguk88
20-11-2008, 11:02
Sorry this isnt related to what you are discussing but i wonder if you can help me?

I am new to Mac and wondered if you can play fm09 in windowed mode as it starts up in fullscreen and i cant seem to minimize it.

Can anyone help?

Thankyou

KUBI
20-11-2008, 11:15
Go to preferenceses, graphic and sound, change the resolution, on top is windowed.

craiguk88
20-11-2008, 11:20
thank you

I am having the same problem after installing the patch, the game will now not load it says the application has quit unexpectadly.

Llywelyn27
20-11-2008, 11:24
The patch is definitely in the right place. However it is not the patch as I cannot start a new game even if I have not installed the patch and are using v9.0.0. Like I say it just gives me a dialogue box saying "Warning: Cannot load tactic 4-4-2 DM" and then another saying "Warning: Cannot load tactic 4-5-1 DM". It then gives me a crash report box.

I have copied the crash log below:

Date/Time: 2008-11-20 11:17:16 +0000
OS Version: 10.5.5 (Build 9F33)
Architecture: i386
Report Version: 4

Command: FM 2009
Path: /Applications/Sports Interactive/Football Manager 2009/fm.app/Contents/MacOS/fm
Version: 9 . 1 (9 . 1 . 0 f 26708)
Parent: launchd [71]

PID: 1897
Event: hang
Time: 5.11s
Steps: 28


Process: fm [1897]
Path: /Applications/Sports Interactive/Football Manager 2009/fm.app/Contents/MacOS/fm

ADDRESS BINARY
00001000 /Applications/Sports Interactive/Football Manager 2009/fm.app/Contents/MacOS/fm
183fa000 /Library/QuickTime/DivX Decoder.component/Contents/MacOS/DivX Decoder
1924e000 /System/Library/CoreServices/RawCamera.bundle/Contents/MacOS/RawCamera
195c2000 /System/Library/Frameworks/OpenGL.framework/Resources/GLEngine.bundle/GLEngine
19773000 /System/Library/Extensions/AppleIntelGMA950GLDriver.bundle/Contents/MacOS/AppleIntelGMA950GLDriver
197d4000 /System/Library/Frameworks/OpenGL.framework/Versions/A/Resources/GLRendererFloat.bundle/GLRendererFloat
1a95f000 /System/Library/TextEncodings/Unicode Encodings.bundle/Contents/MacOS/Unicode Encodings
3e000000 /System/Library/Frameworks/GLUT.framework/Versions/A/GLUT

Thread id: 4d68208
User stack:
28 start + 41 (in fm) [0x25a9]
28 __start + 209 (in fm) [0x267b]
28 _main + 173 (in fm) [0xc8ced9]
28 __ZN4SIOS8PLATFORM3MAC11APPLICATION9sios_mainEv + 257 (in fm) [0xc8af9b]
28 _RunApplicationEventLoop + 207 (in HIToolbox) [0x91abb4ab]
28 __AcquireNextEvent + 58 (in HIToolbox) [0x91abcd4e]
28 _ReceiveNextEventCommon + 374 (in HIToolbox) [0x91a5e299]
28 _RunCurrentEventLoopInMode + 283 (in HIToolbox) [0x91a5e480]
28 _CFRunLoopRunInMode + 88 (in CoreFoundation) [0x96fb6cf8]
28 _CFRunLoopRunSpecific + 4469 (in CoreFoundation) [0x96fb6b45]
28 __ZN4SIOS8PLATFORM3MAC11APPLICATION13run_game_loop Ev + 35 (in fm) [0xc8ade7]
28 __ZN6KERNEL4mainEv + 44 (in fm) [0xd034f6]
28 __ZN7PROCESS16update_processesEv + 117 (in fm) [0xcd1679]
28 __ZN4GAME6updateEv + 35 (in fm) [0x5885f3]
28 __ZN4GAME28inspect_current_game_processEv + 171 (in fm) [0x58820d]
26 __ZN4GAME10setup_gameEb + 1617 (in fm) [0x5842f3]
12 __ZNK4TEAM11get_stadiumEv + 13 (in fm) [0xc535d1]
4 __ZN23PITCH_CONDITION_MANAGER10initialiseEv + 168 (in fm) [0x89dc9c]
3 __ZNK4TEAM11get_stadiumEv + 56 (in fm) [0xc535fc]
2 __ZNK5ARRAYIP4TEAMcE16get_copy_releaseEc + 74 (in fm) [0x1129c2]
1 __ZNK5ARRAYIP4TEAMcE16get_copy_releaseEc + 19 (in fm) [0x11298b]
1 __ZNK14TEAM_CONTAINER8get_teamEc + 40 (in fm) [0x14da4]
2 __ZNK8DATABASE14get_team_countEv + 9 (in fm) [0xb10bf7]
2 __ZN23PITCH_CONDITION_MANAGER10initialiseEv + 154 (in fm) [0x89dc8e]
2 __ZNK5ARRAYIP9TEAM_BASElE16get_copy_releaseEl + 70 (in fm) [0x93c6f2]
2 __ZNK4TEAM11get_stadiumEv + 38 (in fm) [0xc535ea]
1 __ZNK5ARRAYIP9TEAM_BASElE16get_copy_releaseEl + 0 (in fm) [0x93c6ac]
1 __ZNK5ARRAYIP9TEAM_BASElE16get_copy_releaseEl + 71 (in fm) [0x93c6f3]
1 __ZNK4TEAM11get_stadiumEv + 26 (in fm) [0xc535de]
1 __ZNK14TEAM_CONTAINER8get_teamEc + 49 (in fm) [0x14dad]
1 __ZN23PITCH_CONDITION_MANAGER10initialiseEv + 130 (in fm) [0x89dc76]
1 __ZN23PITCH_CONDITION_MANAGER10initialiseEv + 154 (in fm) [0x89dc8e]
Kernel stack:
27 _PE_incoming_interrupt + 131 [0x447f78]
27 _lapic_interrupt + 300 [0x1af933]
27 _sync_iss_to_iks + 114 [0x1a7fa8]
1 _i386_astintr + 47 [0x1a7e6c]
1 _ast_taken + 247 [0x1291aa]
1 _bsd_ast + 721 [0x37f2f5]
1 _postsig + 351 [0x37d885]
1 _exit1 + 392 [0x3720f8]
1 _task_terminate_internal + 313 [0x13b708]
1 _vm_map_remove + 145 [0x16a437]
1 _vm_map_simplify + 5097 [0x16a235]
1 _vm_object_lock_try_shared + 3882 [0x17514b]
1 _vm_object_lock_try_shared + 2957 [0x174dae]
1 _vm_object_lock_try_shared + 1359 [0x174770]
1 _vm_page_free_prepare + 38 [0x17f627]
1 _hw_lock_to + 28 [0x19a60c]

Llywelyn27
20-11-2008, 11:25
@ambolt

Yes this is when I attempt to start a brand new game. I have not even played yet as I chose to wait until the patch was out.

KUBI
20-11-2008, 11:27
Can you have a look into the directory

sportsinteractive/footballmanager2009/data/

is there an updates folder and inside an update-910 folder?

KUBI
20-11-2008, 11:30
Have you both an Intel 950 graphic card in the mac or something else?

Llywelyn27
20-11-2008, 11:33
@ KUBI

Yes there is a update-910 folder.

I have just an Intel GMA 950.

ambolt
20-11-2008, 11:34
Sorry, not really an expert on this kind of technical stuff. Only thing I can think of is that you may not have gotten rid of all the files when you uninstalled the game. Also, run Software Update to see if you have the latest Java version.

There is a separate forum for Mac technical issues, maybe you should try posting there.

KUBI
20-11-2008, 11:36
@ KUBI

Yes there is a update-910 folder.

I have just an Intel GMA 950.

Okay, add it to your post on the bugs forum. I think it's related with the Intel 950 Graphic card which does also cause problems for the pc version.

But I think they should be able to fix it .

Llywelyn27
20-11-2008, 11:40
@KUBI and ambolt

Tanks for all the advice you have given me. I guess I will just have to post on the bugs forum and hope that SI pick it up.

Oh well it does mean I can actually do some work for a change! lol.