Who are the criminals here?

I’ve been playing football manager (CM) for the last ten years and it’s been great always looking forward to the next release having played it throughout the previous year and this year was no different, until now. What are SI thinking of, why do we now have to register via the internet or phone, I’m sure they will say it’s to combat piracy/criminals etc. My game worked fine at first after a marathon session trying to register. Now after logging on via steam which seems to be the only way and is problematic as I don’t always have internet access. It freezes when I look at information for any club or if I want to play a match the game stops responding, checked all the threads to find out how to resolve it no help, but it made me realise the extent of problems with this game, which brings me back to my original question, who are the criminals here. I’ve paid for a product that is defective and if I take it back to the shop they will refuse to refund me because I’ve obviously copied it etc... What now? Where do we stand? (Any legal/watchdog advice) Wait for several patches? I have an idea, might seem a bit radical but why don’t you create a game you can install direct not via the internet, test it before release to make sure it works and refund any game that doesn’t work. Anyway I’ve had my rant don’t feel like throwing my computer through the window anymore.

You chose to use Steam - the rest of us didn't and aren't having any problems. If you'd read up on Steam before installing FM (which I did - I'd never heard of it before) then it wouldn't have taken long to realise what a pile of steaming sh*te it was. Personally, I read up on stuff before installing it on my PC. Therefore I didn't use Steam, therefore I had no problems. Just a thought.