[Linux] FM 2009 on Linux

So, the point of this thread is to centralize information about playing FM 2009 on Linux.

I'm trying out the demo and can't seem to get it to install. I'm stuck on a blank install screen with the following wine output:

fixme:imm:ImmGetOpenStatus (0x1a6998): semi-stub

fixme:imm:ImeHandleNotify WM_IME_NOTIFY:IMN_SETCOMPOSITIONWINDOW

fixme:d3d:WineD3D_ChoosePixelFormat Add OpenGL context recreation support to SetDepthStencilSurface

I was able to install the demo on OpenSuse 11.0 running wine-1.0-rc3

During my first installation attempt I had accidentally hit "I do NOT accept terms" button, and it had triggered some error. Any other attempts led to pretty much the same output as you have. Not being an expert, I had only manage to work it around by completely removing .wine folder in my home directory.

No I have the demo installed. I had also installed MS VC++ 2005 SP1 Redistributable Package (x86) from http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=200b2fd9-ae1a-4a14-984d-389c36f85647&DisplayLang=en

and d3dx9_36.dll from http://www.dll-files.com/dllindex/pop.php?d3dx9_36

Not sure if the above steps are required. =)

Now I am stuck with some bad errors like

wine: Unhandled page fault on read access to 0x00000000 at address 0x10073b7 (thread 001b), starting debugger...

Unhandled exception: page fault on read access to 0x00000000 in 32-bit code (0x010073b7).

Not sure where to go from there.

Good luck to everyone !

UPDATE: Able to start the game after updating wine to 1.1.7 and installing NVidia drivers !

I was able to install the demo on OpenSuse 11.0 running wine-1.0-rc3

During my first installation attempt I had accidentally hit "I do NOT accept terms" button, and it had triggered some error. Any other attempts led to pretty much the same output as you have. Not being an expert, I had only manage to work it around by completely removing .wine folder in my home directory.