"Football Manager 2008 has stopped working"

I've been playing FM08 on Vista for a few months, but it's suddenly stopped working. It's a legit CD.

The splash screen comes up, then an error appears; "Football Manager has stopped working", and it shuts.

I can't load it up. I've reinstalled FM08 a few times with the same result. I've run a virus scan, no viruses.

I was told that it doesn't work anymore because my Drivers are old. I have an Acer Aspire laptop with a NVIDIA Geforce Go 7300. This driver hasn't been updated for almost 2 years. I'm not very good with computers but I don't see why the driver would be a problem since I haven't had a problem until now.

Any help is much appreciated.

This would be better off in the bugs forum. Install patch 8.0.2.

Sorry, new to the forums. Didn't know where to post.

Already have 8.02 installed.

Maybe your anti virus is causing problems. Make sure that it ignores any folders that fm uses. Also try stopping some of the programs running in the background.

Disabled anti virus. Made no difference :(

No programs are running in the back ground.

Delete your cache...

C:\Users\Username\AppData\Roaming\Sports Interactive\Football Manager 2008 and then delete the cache folder.

There was no cache.

Welcome To the forums!!!

Thanks! :D

Thanks for your advice guys, but FM08 still not working.

Any other advice would be great :thup:

(Also if a mod sees this thread, please move it to the correct forums - thanks(

Disabled anti virus. Made no difference :(

No programs are running in the back ground.