Am I rubbish?

Ive been playing the footy manager series since championship manager 3 and like to think of myself, as everyone as does, as a great manager. Ive had plenty of success, primarily with Man Utd, as they are my team, and have won everything, however I realise that this is generally seen as quite easy (with one of the top 4). On one of the older ones (say three of four versions ago) I won the Premiership twice in a row with Southampton which I was pretty proud of, but since then, and after reading plenty of posts on this site (im new to the blog) it seems my managerial ability is pretty average at best!

Ive had small successes with other teams in the Prem like Aston Villa and Newcastle but whenever I play as someone in the Championship or lower, I struggle. I'm often Southampton and after half a season have usually totally run out of ideas as I've tried everything i.e. tactics, formations (nothing too crazy/suicidal), personnel etc. but am still shipping 3 goals a game. No matter who I play in defence, or how I ask them to play, theyre absolute donkeys!

But the thing is, reading the blog, im hearin stories about Oxford United winning the Prem and Uefa cup, and Barnsley in the champions league etc, and have no idea how this is possible! So id love to hear some stories of peoples achievements, and perhaps a few suggestions as to how you dont seem to get thumped by doncaster and luton every week1 thanks :confused:

I wouldn't take any notice of the majority of people on here who claim to of won everything with even the smallest of teams. I take it with a pinch of salt

At the end of the day it isn't important how good you or anyone else is, as long as you enjoy playing it. An if you really do want to improve, go to the tactics forum

Welcome to the forums :)