PDA

View Full Version : Will a RAM upgrade quicken my game??



TheYorkshireKing
18-09-2008, 20:34
Using a laptop to play FM is all fine and dandy, but I'm noticing with FM08 its taking its time processing the game at times.

I have a Pentium M 1.73 ghz with 1GB RAM, will a further 1GB make much difference to game speed and for general use??

Cheers

YK

pelicanstuff
18-09-2008, 20:44
Is your virus checker auto-protect turned off or set to exclude folders used by the game? This generally is the main cause of slowness. Otherwise, I would say your processor is more likely to be causing the slowdown than memory - it's not a particularly fast one.

Äktsjon Männ
18-09-2008, 20:56
It will help when running multiple leagues and multitasking will be smoother. It might also give a boost to the speed of the game interface if it's lagging now. However it won't speed up the processing itself. Your processor is quite old and slow and is the main reason for the slow performance.

Smoggie
18-09-2008, 20:57
Any particular folders that you have to exclude?

As I'm running avast anti virus and have excluded both the folders "C:\Games\Sports Interactive\Football Manager 2008" and "C:\Users\username\Documents\Sports Interactive\Football Manager 2008" and still feeling the game drags a little slow.

System is a AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200 (soon to be AMD Phamton x4) with 4 gig of ram (soon to be 6 gig of ram) of ddr-2 5300 with Windows Vista as the OS

Smac
18-09-2008, 22:13
1GB is generally the plateau with most software currently. Adding more RAM will help, but there is a bit of diminishing returns as you go from 1GB-->4GB compared with 512MB --> 1GB. Still and all, it will help. FM takes quite a huge bite of RAM.

dirty1982dec
18-09-2008, 22:43
Any particular folders that you have to exclude?

As I'm running avast anti virus and have excluded both the folders "C:\Games\Sports Interactive\Football Manager 2008" and "C:\Users\username\Documents\Sports Interactive\Football Manager 2008" and still feeling the game drags a little slow.

System is a AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200 (soon to be AMD Phamton x4) with 4 gig of ram (soon to be 6 gig of ram) of ddr-2 5300 with Windows Vista as the OS

now you see, i didn't even know you had to exclude them. d'oh. done this and it has sped up the game. that's what good these forums can do

blowcrapup
18-09-2008, 22:45
I have a 1.73 ghz processor and 2gb of ram. As long as you don't go mad with the number of leagues its quite quick.

addicted86
18-09-2008, 22:50
I have a 1.73 ghz processor and 2gb of ram. As long as you don't go mad with the number of leagues its quite quick.

are there any other factors at play though? what other technical components are important to computer speeds? (i havent got a clue)

blowcrapup
19-09-2008, 00:07
I do have Norton ANtivirus active which slows it down at little. I'm not very tech wise so I don't know loads either.

pelicanstuff
19-09-2008, 08:50
Any particular folders that you have to exclude?

As I'm running avast anti virus and have excluded both the folders "C:\Games\Sports Interactive\Football Manager 2008" and "C:\Users\username\Documents\Sports Interactive\Football Manager 2008" and still feeling the game drags a little slow.

System is a AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200 (soon to be AMD Phamton x4) with 4 gig of ram (soon to be 6 gig of ram) of ddr-2 5300 with Windows Vista as the OS

I think that's all for vista (assuming it's installed in the \games folder), but since I've temporarily uninstalled it, I can't remember whether there's any more.

smithers08
19-09-2008, 09:03
More Ram and a faster proccesor will help speed up your game .

TheYorkshireKing
19-09-2008, 11:16
Cheers for the replies..

The laptop cost me £1300 3-4 years ago and and is still fine for the things I need it for.

Have a spare slot for another 1GB of RAM, so thought i may as well use it, just for playing FM on my trips..

Akim
19-09-2008, 11:22
i just upgraded a week ago from 1gb to 2gb. it diffienetly improved the speed of game. concerning processing i cant say if its faster now, but browsing through leagues, players and clicking at all is much faster. i would recommend to upgrade to 2gb