Questions about man vs zonal marking.

I'm new to soccer IRL, and only know what I do know from FM. I know zonal marking is a player defending his 'zone', whereas in man he is defending a specific player. But, if you choose 'man' and do not assign a specific player for him to defend, how is it different then zone?? I have a lot of questions...

IRL, what is more common? What kinds of clubs play which style of defense? Do teams play a mixture of both? Does a team change during the game according to the circumstances? What are the advantages/disadvantages to each? Is one style more traditional and one more modern?

Sorry for all the questions, but I hope the experienced football fans will share their knowledge with me. :) In the game, the preset positions leave everyone at zonal except for the central defenders, and I pretty much leave it like that all the time.

I'm new to soccer IRL, and only know what I do know from FM. I know zonal marking is a player defending his 'zone', whereas in man he is defending a specific player. But, if you choose 'man' and do not assign a specific player for him to defend, how is it different then zone?? I have a lot of questions...

IRL, what is more common? What kinds of clubs play which style of defense? Do teams play a mixture of both? Does a team change during the game according to the circumstances? What are the advantages/disadvantages to each? Is one style more traditional and one more modern?

Sorry for all the questions, but I hope the experienced football fans will share their knowledge with me. :) In the game, the preset positions leave everyone at zonal except for the central defenders, and I pretty much leave it like that all the time.

If you set a player to mark man and don't assign him to a specific player he will mark the man closest to him and follow him wherever he goes, but if he is set to zonal marking he will be in his zone even if there are no players there.