PDA

View Full Version : FM2008 not working :(



Joey19
08-09-2008, 00:17
I put the disc in and nothing happens so i cant install the game can someone please help i dont want this to happen with FM2009

rinso
08-09-2008, 00:18
go into my computer, right click on the disc and say "autorun" or "run as administrator" of youre on vista....

or right click the drive with disc in, explore, and then double click setup

and let us know some system info if they dont work.. o/s system specs etc

Joey19
08-09-2008, 12:09
i clicked explore and nothing was there

Nomis07
08-09-2008, 12:13
Can you not just double click the disc and it automatically begin setup?

PGB_SPURS_FM09
08-09-2008, 12:20
is it only with football manager or are you having problems loading other games or playing music? (from a disc)

Joey19
08-09-2008, 15:29
Can you not just double click the disc and it automatically begin setup?

No, i double clicked it in my computer and nothing happens

Joey19
08-09-2008, 15:30
is it only with football manager or are you having problems loading other games or playing music? (from a disc)

Music CDs work but FM2008 and my driving lesson disc dont work

isuckatfm
08-09-2008, 15:37
Sounds like your drive is on it's way out. That's the usual sequence. Off the top of my head don't know the specifics but it has something to do with laser strength etc. IIRC. CDs are easier to read than DVDs etc.

If you google it you'll probably find a technical explanation for it.

Joey19
08-09-2008, 15:46
do you know what i should google?

ftg87
08-09-2008, 15:50
do you know what i should google?

Not trying to be funny, but googling for "new dvd drive" is probably your best option

Joey19
08-09-2008, 15:51
for a laptop tho can you do tht

ftg87
08-09-2008, 15:53
for a laptop tho can you do tht

Not really something I know too much about tbh, AFAIK, it should be possible, although some newer laptops make it almost impossible to change things

Joey19
08-09-2008, 15:56
thanks il give it a try

isuckatfm
08-09-2008, 16:03
Did the FM disc work before or have you just got it and it doesn't work?

Joey19
08-09-2008, 16:04
ive had it since release and it works on the family computer just not my laptop

isuckatfm
08-09-2008, 16:07
How old is the laptop?

Joey19
08-09-2008, 16:09
couple of years

isuckatfm
08-09-2008, 16:18
You could try updating the firmware for your CD/DVD drive.
What is your drive model?
Open My Computer, right click the drive and click the hardware tab.

Joey19
08-09-2008, 16:52
theres 3 types there

isuckatfm
08-09-2008, 17:02
Right click the one that has DVD or CD in it's name and a little disc over it.

Usually in My Computer

System, C:
Data, D:
CD/DVD Drive, E:

Joey19
08-09-2008, 17:09
yeah i mean on the hardware bit

davestu
08-09-2008, 17:20
Not to take away from anybodies knowledge on this board, however, this forum would be a good place to ask these questions, I have found them to be awesome when needing advice.

http://www.pchelpforum.com/

isuckatfm
08-09-2008, 17:33
yeah i mean on the hardware bit

When you right click your CD/DVD, click properties and then the hardware tab there are 3 different items. The same as in My Computer the CD/DVD drive is the one that says so under 'type'.

http://img230.imageshack.us/my.php?image=cddvddrivesq2.jpg


Not to take away from anybodies knowledge on this board, however, this forum would be a good place to ask these questions, I have found them to be awesome when needing advice.

http://www.pchelpforum.com/

Are you questioning my know how :mad: I have 90 years experience of fixing PCs and I know what I'm talking about!















Just pulling your leg ;) You can't go wrong with asking on a tech forum rather than here Joey19. But if you find a solution elsewhere can you post back here :thup:

davestu
08-09-2008, 17:38
Are you questioning my know how :mad: I have 90 years experience of fixing PCs and I know what I'm talking about!















Just pulling your leg ;) You can't go wrong with asking on a tech forum rather than here Joey19. But if you find a solution elsewhere can you post back here :thup:


Hehe. The funny thing is as I was writing it I was thought someone would definately come on here saying something along those lines :)

sleepwalkingpolarbear
08-09-2008, 17:50
Does the laptop even have a dvd drive?

Joey19
09-09-2008, 01:19
Does the laptop even have a dvd drive?

yes it says so i used to be able to play the game

PGB_SPURS_FM09
09-09-2008, 10:21
I would say your drive has a fault either in terms of hardware or the driver or something..

Hit Windows Key + Pause/break button near scroll lock and then go to the hardware tab and click on device manager... if there is a exclamation mark in there then its the driver. Go to a pc help forum i'm sure you'll find an answer there.