Question on Assistant Reports/Coach Reports

I'm new to the Football Manager series and was hoping for some insight into how to best judge player talent on a team.

For example, I started a new game as Boston United in the Blue Square North. Initially, my assistant reports showed him very pleased with the strength of the team, and players with star ratings from 4 to 7, with most being 5 or 6 stars. Team looked great.

Then, I reviewed my coaching staff and decided my Assistant Coach was less than desireable and fired him. This fired coach had only a 1 and 2 on Judging Ability and Potential, respectively.

My new coach had a 13/8 in those stats, and once he was on staff, that same Assistant Report now showed my team was not nearly as good as the last coach thought, including one defender than dropped from 6 starts to just a 1 star.

I then decided to look over the Coach Reports using the various coaches, and while my assistant viewed this player as a 1 start player I should dump, my other coaches were somewhat higher, going as high as 4 stars (quality player).

So, from the above, I assume that my first assistants analysis was off due to his poor stats for judging players, but how do I know who to believe amongst the vastly different opinions from other coaches on the staff.

For example, my assistant lists as an "Attacking" coach and judges my fall back at 1 star, while another coach described as (Defensive) judges him at 4 stars.

Just don't know who to believe and whether judging attributes are the sole determination of how accurate the opinions are, or does a coaches knowledge of a particular area also factor in whether he judge players (like a low Defense stat coach would be bad at judging defenders?).

Any tips on this would be greatly appreciated.

best tip i can give you, is do not rely 100% on the coach reports/scout reports/ass.man reports. use your own judgement, and use them if you are really not sure. theyre only opinions, and they are often wrong.