I Fear This May Come True!

From another footy management sim website, some very interesting points:

This is the year - that CM overtakes FM, if...

I have been a fan of Football Manager for many years. In fact I have written a team talk guide for FM08 which attracted over 250 replies and countless views on the official FM forum and was translated into Spanish and Polish by FM fans who liked my guide.

I however started to dislike FM, partly because of the poor quality of the initial release of FM08 and partly because of SI's arrogant attitudes towards its customers and towards genuine criticisms as evidenced by the posts on its own forums.

This year, 2008, FM takes a different path as SI focuses on making its first online football game - FMLive. SI will release FMLive in October this year and then FM09 before Christmas. This means that FM09 will be released later than usual and likely later than CM09.

There is no doubt that many FM/CM fans, including myself, do not like the idea of online gaming which is time consuming/wasting and costly (over 70 pounds a year). What SI is planning to do is to release FMLive first and delay the release of FM09, so that fans would get impatient waiting for FM09 and buy FMLive, so that they have something to play with. Once they realise that they do not like FMLive, they will want FM09 more and SI will release FM09 then. This is a strategy to maximise profit.

All sounds good except SI forgot about its competitors, one of which is CM.

My view is that if Eidos can release a high quality CM09 this year in October, it has a high chance of attracting a great number of fans of football management games as more and more of them get tired/unhappy about SI and the FM series.