Back to FM2007?

I've been playing a career game for a bit in FM2008, but I really haven't been able to get "into" it. I've had to actually kind of force myself to play, which is unheard of for me in any of the games in this series (been only playing since FM2005, but it is by far my favorite game). Wondering if it was just the game I was currently playing, I tried several different things, such as changing teams, playing different leagues, etc, but to no avail, I still wasn't fired up about the game like I used to be.

Finally, I decided to check out my old career game in FM2007. I started playing again, and "that old feeling" came back. FM2007 seems more "alive" to me, where FM2008 feels like a computer game (hard to describe). I found myself getting mad at players wanting to leave, and cheering on young players to develop. Now I can't wait to play again, ready to hit the transfer market to improve my team and constantly thinking of ways to improve my league position.

So, what makes FM2007 feel more alive to me than FM2008, I got to thinking. Here are a few things I can point out:

1)The news being all in one place. I know I have harped on this before, but it was great to know right away that a player on another team was unsettled and wanting a first team place, so I can scout him and see if I can make an offer on him. Maybe comment on him to get him interested on my team. In FM2008, I would have probably missed this as it is on a totally different screen which I never go to, and when I do go, it is in some odd order and is mixed in with game results. Putting the news in one spot makes the game world feel more "real" to me.

2)The match engine. The FM2008 match engine after the patch just feels "funny" to me. Not sure why, and I can't put my finger on it. The FM2007 engine, although frantic at times, has a better feel to me. Also, no corner cheat is nice, as I don't have defenders scoring 20+ goals a season.