How Sophisticated Is The Manager/Player Interaction?

My spirited striker earned 'Player Of The Week' in my league so I sent out a media statement stating I was pleased (not delighted) with his recent play. He responds by saying he doesn't have to do much to earn my praise. As a manager, I think that is an inappropriate player response and IRL I would consider benching him a match for it. In FM, if I did bench the player, would he recognize his benching was due to his disrespectful media comments and maybe be more careful in the future or would there be no effect? Realistically, both the manager and player should be able to react to the other's comments until resolution.

Look at the stats on his form. Praising a player who happen to get media attention from the latest game, with the form 6-7-6-6-9 will almost always return a "doesn't have to do much to earn praise" reply.

I always ignore media reports on how great the players are. From time to time I sort my squad list by form, and praise the ones that have performed for 5 (or more) games.

Yeah - he's looking at his form over several matches (3, I think) to judge your response. Essentially, he's saying "Look, I can get praise from my manager anytime I just put in a single good match." In that example, the lightest of touch "praise" item might not have gotten it, but the upper two have to be reserved for multiple-match streaks of form.

I do somewhat like the module - with a high-reputation player sitting on a string of 7's, you can sometimes spur some better performances by saying his performance was "merely average".

I do exactly what Carradona does: sort by form (which is 5 matches), and look for guys that I think aren't performing where they ought to be.