Can't find enough good young players

I'm into year 23/24 managing Pro Vercelli in Italy and I want to recruit as many good 16/17/18 year olds as I can for my youth team. Problem is none of them are good enough. I've been scouting non stop and searching myself for about 5 years but hardly any are up to scratch. Anybody else find this? Is there anything else I can do to find better players?

There isn't anything then really. It's just luck that all the youngsters at the moment don't seem to be good enough. How good of a side are you? It could be that you have some good quality players and some good scouts and that your scouts attributes are saying that they aren't good enough in theory. Some players sometimes actually out perform their attributes and are able to do well through other hidden attributes. So sometimes don't just go on the visible attributes. Go with instinct too.

Ya my team is pretty awesome if I do say so myself but it's mostly that the stats of the new crop of young players aren't very good. Seems to be plenty of 20/21/22 year olds with amazing stats but not so with the younger ones. I'll have to bite the bullet and sign a few lumps of coal and try and turn them into diamonds.

Don't be put off by star ratings. If you have amazing world class players and your promising youth are 2.5-3star potential it doesn't mean they are going to be poor. In the description it might say 'potential to be a good XXXXXX player', therefore solid rotation players and possible first teamers. The star ratings can change so frequently depending on the other players in the squad.

Also, it really comes down to the distribution of attributes in key areas. Some 4.5star potential players can have terrible placement of attributes and may never reach the level they should.

Make sure you have a few Scouts with 18+/18+ for judging ability, but always use your own judgement.